File #: Res 1135-2003    Version: * Name: Praising and congratulating Shirin Ebadi, Nobel Peace Prize
Type: Resolution Status: Adopted
Committee: Committee on Mental Health, Developmental Disability, Alcoholism, Substance Abuse and Disability Services
On agenda: 11/6/2003
Enactment date: Law number:
Title: Resolution praising and congratulating Shirin Ebadi for becoming the first Muslim woman to win the Nobel Peace Prize.
Sponsors: Philip Reed, Tracy L. Boyland, Leroy G. Comrie, Jr., Margarita Lopez, Bill Perkins, Helen Sears, David I. Weprin
Council Member Sponsors: 7
Attachments: 1. Committee Report, 2. Hearing Transcript, 3. Hearing Transcript - Stated Meeting 11/6
Res. No. 1135 Title Resolution praising and congratulating Shirin Ebadi for becoming the first Muslim woman to win the Nobel Peace Prize. Body By Council Members Reed, Boyland, Comrie, Lopez, Perkins, Sears and Weprin Whereas, The Nobel Foundation was established as a private institution in 1900 based on the provisions contained in the will of Alfred Nobel, who died on December 10, 1896; and Whereas, The Nobel Foundation is entrusted with managing the assets set aside in Mr. Nobel's will for the Nobel Prize, and with protecting the common interests of the institutions designated to award the Nobel Prize in five distinct categories; and Whereas, Since 1901, the Nobel Prize has been awarded to members of the international community who have, according to Mr. Nobel's will, "conferred the greatest benefit on mankind" for their achievements in physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature and peace; and Whereas, In accordance with the provisions outlined in Mr. Nobel's will, the Nobel Peace Prize is awarded to those who during the preceding year "have done the most or the best work for fraternity between nations, for the abolition or reduction of standing armies and for the holding and promotion of peace congresses;" and Whereas, Recently, the Norwegian Nobel Committee, the institution responsible for selecting the Nobel Peace Prize Laureate, announced that they had decided to award the Nobel Peace Prize for 2003 to Shirin Ebadi of Iran for her efforts in the struggle for democracy and human rights, especially for those of women and children; and Whereas, As a lawyer, judge, lecturer, writer, activist and founder of the Association for the Support of Children's Rights in Iran, Ms. Ebadi has been outspoken about the oppressive government policies within Iran and has been jailed for some statements that were critical of government officials; and Whereas, Ms. Ebadi's efforts in the struggle for basic human rights has resonated far beyond the borders of Iran due to her consistent support of non-violence, her views that the supreme political power in a community must be built on democratic elections and her beliefs that enlightenment and dialogue are the best paths toward changing attitudes and resolving conflict; and Whereas, Ms. Ebadi becomes the first Muslim woman, and only the third Muslim overall, to win the prestigious and coveted Nobel Peace Prize; and Whereas, Ms. Ebadi also joins an impressive list of other Nobel Laureates that include Jimmy Carter, Nelson Mandela, Mikhail Gorbachev, Desmond Tutu, Lech Walesa, Mother Teresa, and Martin Luther King, Jr.; now, therefore, be it Resolved, That the Council of the City of New York praises and congratulates Shirin Ebadi for becoming the first Muslim woman to win the Nobel Peace Prize. Body LS# 3401 RA 10/29/2003 H:/word/resolutions/Reed/ls#3401 |1013| |1013|