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I. INTRODUCTION 

On January 31, 2024, the Committee on Consumer and Worker Protection, chaired by Council Member Julie Menin, will hear eleven Preconsidered Introductions related to street vending in New York City as well as lithium-ion battery, powered bicycle and powered mobility device safety. These bills were heard last session on October 23, 2023 and December 13, 2023 as Introduction Number 819, related to requiring the posting of lithium-ion battery safety guides in places of business and online retail platforms that sell powered mobility devices; Introduction Number 998, related to record keeping and reporting on the disposal of rechargeable batteries used for powered mobility devices; Introduction Number 1163, related to third-party delivery workers and powered bicycle safety; Introduction Number 1168, related to safety standards for powered bicycles and powered mobility devices used for food delivery services; Introduction Number 1220, related to creating licensing requirements for electric bicycle or scooter businesses; Introduction Number 1060, in relation to prohibiting vending or vendor-related activity in bicycle lanes; Introduction Number 1062, in relation to vendor display and storage of goods and to repeal sections 17-313 and 20-463 of such code, relating to bookkeeping requirements; Introduction Number 1188, in relation to the requirement of food vendors to obtain a certificate of authority to collect sales tax; Introduction Number 1253, in relation to permitting street vendors to vend within two feet from the curb; Introduction Number 1264, in relation to repealing misdemeanor criminal penalties for general vendors and mobile food vendors; and Introduction Number 1275, in relation to vending on bridges. At the hearings on these bills, the Committee heard from the Department of Consumer and Worker Protection, Department of Sanitation, Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, general and mobile food vendors, delivery workers, third-party delivery platforms, business representatives and other stakeholders. All testimony from the October 23, 2023 and December 13, 2023 hearings is being carried over to this hearing. 
II. E-BIKE AND LITHIUM-ION BATTERY BACKGROUND
 New York’s Legalization of E-Bikes
In 2020, through the adoption of the New York State budget, the State legalized electric bicycles (“e-bikes”) and electric scooters (“e-scooters”) while also giving localities the ability to regulate their use.[footnoteRef:1] The law established three classes of e-bikes: Class 1 is pedal-assisted with no throttle; Class 2 is throttle-assisted with a maximum speed of 20 mph; and Class 3 is throttle-powered with a maximum speed of 25 mph. E-scooters were capped at 15 mph, and riders under 18 years of age are required to wear a helmet. Helmets are also required for riders of Class 3 e-bikes.[footnoteRef:2]  [1:  Erik Bascome, “E-Bikes, E-Scooters legalized in New York budget bill,” SI Live, April 3, 2020, available at: https://www.silive.com/news/2020/04/e-bikes-e-scooters-legalized-in-new-york-budget-bill.html ]  [2:  Id.] 

Pursuant to the State’s legalization of electric bicycles and scooters, the Council passed Local Laws 72 and 73 of 2020, which legalized such devices throughout the City.[footnoteRef:3] The legislation removed prohibitions on three classes of e-bikes with speeds under 25 miles per hour and e-scooters with speeds under 20 miles per hour. [3:  Local Law 72 of 2020 at https://legistar.council.nyc.gov/LegislationDetail.aspx?ID=3763645&GUID=1B9B8689-094C-46D1-8F0C-8BB71C99E149&Options=ID|Text|&Search=1250
 Local Law 73 of 2020 at https://legistar.council.nyc.gov/LegislationDetail.aspx?ID=3763646&GUID=5EEC4A3E-AF9D-4532-9E0E-2DE4333476F7&Options=ID|Text|&Search=1264 ] 

Since their legalization, e-bikes and e-scooters have become ubiquitous on City streets: delivery workers use them to carry take-out orders, tourists use electric Citi Bikes to explore, and parents transport their kids to school on e-cargo bikes.[footnoteRef:4] While there is no data on the number of e-bikes in circulation, advocates estimate there are at least 65,000 delivery workers using these devices and at least 20 times more e-bikes and e-scooters than cars.[footnoteRef:5] [4:  John Surico, “The E-Bike Effect Is Transforming New York City,” Bloomberg, May 5, 2022, available at: https://www.bloomberg.com/news/features/2022-05-05/as-e-bikes-surge-new-york-city-tries-to-keep-up]  [5:  Alissa Walker, “Don’t Blame the E-Bike,” Curbed, November 17, 2022, available at: https://www.curbed.com/2022/11/e-bike-fires-batteries-deliveristas.html ] 

Lithium-Ion Batteries
	E-bikes, e-scooters, and powered mobility devices use lithium-ion batteries, which contain a pressurized electrolyte fluid that makes them very dangerous in a range of circumstances. Circumstances that may compromise the battery’s integrity and cause the battery to explode or ignite include but are not limited to: (i) impact damage to the battery; (ii) a manufacturing flaw; (iii) aging and deterioration of the battery components; (iv) extreme temperatures; and (v) overcharging.[footnoteRef:6] Overcharging lithium-ion may produce an exothermic decomposition of the battery cell, which leads to potential rupturing and creating a highly dangerous thermal explosion called thermal runaway.[footnoteRef:7] Lithium-ion battery fires can be extremely dangerous because they are self-sustaining and are difficult to contain and extinguish.[footnoteRef:8]  [6:   Lithium-ion Safety Concerns, available at: https://batteryuniversity.com/article/lithium-ion-safety-concerns. ]  [7:  Id. ]  [8:  Id.] 

	The dangers of lithium-ion batteries are particularly acute for products that have not been tested or certified for safety.[footnoteRef:9] However, there are limited models of certified e-bikes available and they are cost prohibitive for some New Yorkers. According to according to Los Deliveristas Unidos, a group representing 65,000 app-based delivery workers, 90 percent of their members use non-certified batteries.[footnoteRef:10] [9:  Rebecca Bellan, “Everything you need to know about e-bike battery fires,” Tech Crunch, July 11, 2023, available at: https://techcrunch.com/2023/07/11/everything-you-need-to-know-about-e-bike-battery-fires/.]  [10:  Testimony of Los Deliveristas Unidos to the City Council, April 17, 2023, at: https://legistar.council.nyc.gov/MeetingDetail.aspx?ID=1090460&GUID=E14F6B0E-5BE4-45DB-B0C7-1234FBC383C3] 

Lithium-Ion Battery Related Fires in New York City 
Over the past few years, as e-bikes, e-scooters and powered mobility devices have become more prevalent, the City has experienced a rapid increase in lithium-ion battery related fires in both residential and commercial properties that not only destroy property but result in injuries and fatalities. It has been reported that an e-bike or e-scooter battery causes a fire in the City four times per week, on average.[footnoteRef:11]  [11:  NPR – Fires from Exploding E-Bike Batteries Multiply in NYC – Sometimes Fatally at https://www.npr.org/2022/10/30/1130239008/fires-from-exploding-e-bike-batteries-multiply-in-nyc-sometimes-fatally] 

Below is FDNY data on fires caused by lithium-ion batteries in e-bikes and e-scooters:[footnoteRef:12] [12:  2019-2022 data provided by FDNY to staff for the Committee on Fire and Emergency Management; 2023 data from the 2024 Annual Report pursuant to Local Law 40 of 2023.] 

	Year
	Investigations
	Injuries
	Deaths
	Structural
	Non-Structural

	2019
	30
	13
	0
	23
	7

	2020
	44
	23
	0
	37
	7

	2021
	104
	79
	4
	77
	27

	2022
	220
	147
	6
	162
	58

	2023
	268
	150
	18
	178
	90


	
In 2023 the number of fires increased almost 20 percent from the previous year, and the number of deaths tripled from six to 18.[footnoteRef:13] [13:  Jaclyn Jeffrey-Wilensky, “E-bike battery fires keep climbing in NYC”, Gothamist, January 17, 2024, available at: https://gothamist.com/news/e-bike-battery-fires-keep-climbing-in-nyc.] 

	Some of the most hazardous environments are e-bike shops, where many lithium-ion batteries are stored at once. On June 20, 2023, a fire broke out in an e-bike shop on the Lower East Side, killing four people and critically injuring two others.[footnoteRef:14] The Fire Department had inspected the shop in August 2022 and issued citations for safety violations related to battery charging, the number of batteries at the site and the electrical system.[footnoteRef:15] On June 29, City inspectors found more than 100 lithium-ion batteries, damaged batteries and overloaded power strips inside an e-bike shop on Canal Street—and several of the batteries caught fire as they were being removed from the premises.[footnoteRef:16] [14:  “4 dead after battery causes fire at New York City e-bike shop that spreads to apartments,” Associated Press, June 20, 2023, available at: https://apnews.com/article/new-york-ebike-store-fatal-fire-789d04a128a93160810743acf9c4f893. ]  [15:  Id.]  [16:  Winnie Hu, “Fire Dept. Targets E-Bike Shops in Crackdown on Battery Hazards,” The New York Times, June 29, 2023, available at: https://www.nytimes.com/2023/06/29/nyregion/e-bike-shop-lithium-ion-batteries.html] 

III. RELEVANT FIRE CODE REGULATIONS
Recent updates to the New York City Fire Code (“Fire Code”) established safety regulations related to the charging of powered mobility devices, including e-bikes and e-scooters that are powered by lithium-ion or other storage batteries. First, section FC 202 was amended to define powered mobility devices as “Motorized bicycles, motorized scooters and other personal mobility devices powered by a lithium-ion or other storage battery. The term does not include motor vehicles or motorcycles or other mobility devices that must be registered with the New York State Department of Motor Vehicle.”[footnoteRef:17] Further, section FC 309, which was previously limited to ventilation requirements for battery-charging areas, was expanded to incorporate fire safety provisions for charging and storage of battery-powered industrial trucks, equipment and mobility devices.[footnoteRef:18] These provisions included: (i) adoption of Underwriters Laboratory (UL) standards for charging equipment;[footnoteRef:19] (ii) requiring battery inspection prior to charging or re-charging if the battery has been dropped, involved in a collision or otherwise subjected to a potential mechanism of damage;[footnoteRef:20] and (iii) establishing requirements for battery charging[footnoteRef:21], and storage areas for such powered devices.[footnoteRef:22] The Fire Code regulations for indoor battery charging areas include: (i) requiring adequate natural or mechanical ventilation in accordance with the Mechanical Code to prevent accumulation of flammable or other gases; (ii) requiring adequate electrical supply and sufficient number of electrical receptacles (outlets) to permit equipment or battery packs to be directly connecting to an electric receptacle while charging, prohibiting the use of extension cords or power strips, and establishing clearance requirements between devices or battery packs during charging operations; (iii) prohibiting such areas from including storage of combustible materials, combustible waste or hazardous materials; (iv) requiring such areas be separated by a fire barrier with a minimum 1-hour fire-resistance from areas where repairs or servicing of batteries or powered devices occurs; (v) requiring such areas be equipped with portable fire extinguishers; and (vi) where 6 or more devices are charged in a single indoor location, charging rooms must be fully enclosed by fire barriers, be equipped with automatic sprinklers, and be temperature controlled to prevent overheating.[footnoteRef:23] Indoor areas used for storage of powered devices, but where charging or repairs do not occur, must comply with above-mentioned regulations pertaining to combustible waste, fire extinguishers, and required fire barriers separating the area from where charging or repairs occurs.[footnoteRef:24] [17:  FC 202]  [18:  FC 309.3]  [19:  FC 309.3.1]  [20:  FC 309.3.2]  [21:  FC 309.3.3]  [22:  FC 309.3.4]  [23:  FC 309.3.3]  [24:  FC 309.3.4] 

	Finally, the above-mentioned provisions exempt storage and charging of up to five powered mobility devices using a storage battery in a Group R-3 occupancy (one- and two-family homes) or in a dwelling unit in a Group R-2 occupancy, provided that such devices are for personal use; and charging of a single powered mobility device by and in the presence of its owner or user.[footnoteRef:25] [25:  FC 309.3] 

	To mitigate the fire risks posed by lithium-ion batteries, and electrical bicycles and scooters, safety standards have been developed with the aim of minimizing the occurrence of battery malfunctions that can result in fires. Such standards, some of which are established by Underwriter Labs (“UL”), were developed by technical experts in consultation with industry representatives[footnoteRef:26] and can be utilized for product certification testing by any nationally recognized testing laboratories. Relevant standards include: UL 2849, the Standard for Electrical Systems for e-bikes;[footnoteRef:27] UL 2272, the Standard for Electrical Systems for Personal E-Mobility Devices;[footnoteRef:28] and UL 2271, the Standard for Safety of Light Electric Vehicle Batteries.[footnoteRef:29] [26:  “E-Bike Certification: Evaluating and Testing to UL 2849,” UL Solutions, available at: https://www.ul.com/services/e-bikes-certificationevaluating-and-testing-ul-2849. ]  [27: See UL Solutions, “Micromobility How to Guide,” available at: https://collateral-library-production.s3.amazonaws.com/uploads/asset_file/attachment/46596/Micromobility_How_to_Guide.pdf.]  [28:  Id.]  [29:  See American National Standards Institute, UL 2271; available at: https://webstore.ansi.org/standards/ul/ul2271ed2018. ] 

	UL standard 2849 evaluates the electrical system of an e-bike, to ensure compatibility of various components of the device, including the “electrical drive train system, battery system, charger system combination, interconnecting wiring and e-bike power inlet.”[footnoteRef:30] UL standard 2272 similarly evaluates the electrical systems of other electric powered mobility devices, such as e-scooters.[footnoteRef:31] These standards go beyond a standard that applies only to a battery because they consider the complete electrical system, including other points of potential failure and risk. Complete electrical system evaluations, such as those required by UL 2849 and UL 2272, aim to provide additional safeguards against device or battery malfunctions by testing component compatibility within a device’s electrical system. [30:  See UL Solutions, “Micromobility How to Guide,” available at: https://collateral-library-production.s3.amazonaws.com/uploads/asset_file/attachment/46596/Micromobility_How_to_Guide.pdf. ]  [31:  Id.] 

	On December 20, 2022, the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission’s (“CPSC”), sent a letter to over 2,000 manufacturers and importers of electric mobility devices, urging that products be designed, manufactured and certified for compliance with standards established by UL 2272 and UL 2849.[footnoteRef:32] The letter further suggested the possibility of enforcement action against manufacturers and importers who fail to demonstrate compliance with those standards, stating that any product that fails to meet the applicable certification safety level presents an “unreasonable risk of fire and risk of serious injury or death.”[footnoteRef:33] In February of 2023, FDNY Commissioner Kavanagh sent a letter to leadership of the CPSC highlighting additional safety measures that are needed to address lithium-ion battery related fires and asking for the CPSC to “be proactive in … seizing imported devices at the ports that fail minimum industry standards, levying penalties against manufacturers who fail to inform [regulators] of hazards posed by their products, and seeking additional recalls of unsafe products.”[footnoteRef:34] [32:  U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, “Safety Information Concerning Micromobility Devices,” available at: https://www.cpsc.gov/Newsroom/News-Releases/2023/CPSC-Calls-on-Manufacturers-to-Comply-with-Safety-Standards-for-Battery-Powered-Products-to-Reduce-the-Risk-of-Injury-and-Death. ]  [33:  Id.]  [34:  Julianne Cuba, “FDNY Wants Feds to Ban Faulty Lithium-Ion Batteries From Entering U.S,” Streets Blog NYC, February 14, 2023, available at: https://nyc.streetsblog.org/2023/02/14/the-fdny-wants-the-feds-to-ban-faulty-lithium-ion-batteries-from-entering-u-s. ] 

IV. RELEVANT LITHIUM-ION BATTERY AND POWERED MOBILITY CITY, STATE, AND FEDERAL LEGISLATION 
In March 2023, the Council passed a package of e-bike fire safety legislation: 
(i) Local Law 38 of 2023, which requires the FDNY to develop an informational campaign to educate the public on fire risks posed by powered mobility devices;[footnoteRef:35]  [35:  Local Law 38/2023, at: https://legistar.council.nyc.gov/LegislationDetail.aspx?ID=5839380&GUID=5D3D6F91-1E29-416E-80FC-5B0C66B9C65B. ] 

(ii) Local Law 39 of 2023, which prohibits the sale, lease, or rental of powered mobility devices, such as e-bikes and electric scooters, and storage batteries for these devices, that fail to meet recognized safety standards;[footnoteRef:36]  [36:  Local Law 39/2023, at: https://legistar.council.nyc.gov/LegislationDetail.aspx?ID=5839354&GUID=D0854615-5297-460B-BCBC-646D24A75B2E. ] 

(iii) Local Law 40 of 2023, which requires the FDNY to report on safety measures to mitigate fire risk associated with powered mobility devices;[footnoteRef:37]  [37:  Local Law 40/2023, at: https://legistar.council.nyc.gov/LegislationDetail.aspx?ID=5858563&GUID=4756C5C1-07B1-4D5A-883C-CD7F92C441E0. ] 

(iv) Local Law 41 of 2023, which requires that DWCP, in consultation with the FDNY, establish materials that provide guidance on safe use and storage of powered mobility devices;[footnoteRef:38] and  [38:  Local Law 41/2023, at: https://legistar.council.nyc.gov/LegislationDetail.aspx?ID=5865910&GUID=77C3CB30-DB10-4410-8514-90A42146651E. ] 

(v) Local Law 42 of 2023, which prohibits the sale of lithium-ion batteries assembled or reconditioned using cells removed from used batteries.[footnoteRef:39] [39:  Local Law 42/2023, at: https://legistar.council.nyc.gov/LegislationDetail.aspx?ID=5865911&GUID=A8974463-3FC2-4E68-92F4-07654DBCC658. ] 

From September 16, 2023, when Local Law 39 went into effect, and January 16, 2024, DCWP conducted over 400 inspections and issued summonses to 89 brick-and-mortar retailers for selling, leasing, or renting uncertified lithium-ion batteries or the devices that use them (e-bikes, scooters, mopeds). Additionally, DCWP issued 40 Cease-and-Desist letters and 14 summonses to online retailers for noncompliance with the law.[footnoteRef:40]  [40:  Information provided by DCWP to the Council, January 17, 2024. ] 

In October 2023, the Council enacted Local Law 131, which established a trade-in program for powered mobility devices and lithium-ion batteries used in powered mobility devices. Eligible individuals may exchange devices and batteries that do not comply with relevant safety standards in exchange for devices that meet relevant fire safety standards at reduced or no cost to the individual seeking an exchange.[footnoteRef:41]  [41:  Local Law 131/2023, at: https://legistar.council.nyc.gov/LegislationDetail.aspx?ID=6047910&GUID=B66B61A8-E867-4071-9984-4176A3DD30F6. ] 

	Additionally, there is pending state legislation related to lithium-ion battery safety. A.4938-B/S.154-C would amend the New York State General Business Law to prohibit the manufacturing, distribution, and sale of lithium-ion battery or chargers for e-bikes, electric scooters, and other small mobility devices that do not comply with UL standards and create a civil penalty that ranges from $500 for a first violation to $1,000 for each subsequent violation.[footnoteRef:42] A.5310/S.157 would prohibit the distribution, assembly, or sale of second-use lithium-ion batteries for e-bikes and electric scooters and create a civil penalty that ranges from $200 for a first violation to $1,000 for each subsequent violation within two years.[footnoteRef:43] S.314/A.275 would direct the New York State Energy and Development Authority to establish a ride clean rebate program for e-bikes and e-scooters.[footnoteRef:44] The law would make class one, class two and class three e-bikes, and e-scooters that are compliant with all State regulations eligible for a 50% rebate up to $1,100.[footnoteRef:45] All of these bills have passed the New York State Senate and are pending approval of the New York State Assembly.  [42:  New York State Senate, S.154-C/ A.4938-B, available at: https://www.nysenate.gov/legislation/bills/2023/S154/amendment/C. ]  [43: New York State Senate, S.157/ A.5310, available at: https://www.nysenate.gov/legislation/bills/2023/S157. ]  [44:  NYS Ride Clean Rebate Program Legislation, S.314/A.257, available at: https://www.nysenate.gov/legislation/bills/2023/s314. ]  [45:  NYS Ride Clean Rebate Program Legislation, S.314/A.257, available at: https://www.nysenate.gov/legislation/bills/2023/s314.] 

At the federal level, in March 2023 Congressman Ritchie Torres introduced H.R. 1797, which is also known as the “Setting Consumer Standards for Lithium-Ion Batteries Act”.[footnoteRef:46] This bill would require the CPSC to “establish a final consumer product safety standard for rechargeable lithium-ion batteries used in personal mobility devices, such as electric scooters and bikes, to protect against the risk of fires caused by such batteries.”[footnoteRef:47] [46:  H.R. 1797, available at: https://www.congress.gov/bill/118th-congress/house-bill/1797/text?s=1&r=28. ]  [47:  H.R. 1797, available at: https://www.congress.gov/bill/118th-congress/house-bill/1797/text?s=1&r=28.] 

V. STREET VENDING BACKGROUND
Street vendors in New York City contribute to the vibrancy of the City’s streets and to the City’s food and retail landscape. They often offer cheaper food and merchandise alternatives to that sold in traditional stores, or sell fresh fruit and vegetables in underserved areas that are considered food deserts. Street vending in this City has existed for centuries and has consistently been an avenue for newly arrived immigrants and those with minimal work opportunities to make a living, from peddlers selling oysters and clams in the early 1800s to vendors today selling hot dogs and halal food.[footnoteRef:48] However, over their centuries of operation in New York City, street vendors have consistently struggled to be seen as equal counterparts to other small business merchants. This quote from the 1906 Mayoral Push-Cart Commission aptly captures the situation today as it did back then: “While adding materially to the picturesqueness of the city’s streets and imparting that air of foreign life which is so interesting to the traveler, lending an element of gaiety and charm to the scene which is otherwise lacking, the practical disadvantages from the undue congestion of peddlers in certain localities are so great as to lead to a demand in many quarters for the entire abolition of this industry, if it may be dignified by that term.”[footnoteRef:49] The legislation being considered by the Committee aims to mitigate some of these problems, while balancing the competing needs of vendors, customers, residents and brick and mortar establishments.  [48:  See for example Rembert Browne et al “New York City street vendors”, Columbia University Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and & Preservation, Spring 2011, available at: http://www.spacesofmigration.org/migration/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/StreetVendorReport_Final.pdf, pp. 10-11; Devin Gannon “From oysters to falafel: The complete history of street vending in NYC”, 6sqft, August 10, 2017, available at: https://www.6sqft.com/from-oysters-to-falafel-the-complete-history-of-street-vending-in-nyc/. ]  [49:  NYC Mayor’s Push-Cart Commission “Report of the Mayor’s Push-Cart Commission”, September 10, 1906, available at: http://www.archive.org/stream/reportofmayorspu00newyrich/reportofmayorspu00newyrich_djvu.txt. ] 

A. Current New York City Street Vending Regulations and Restrictions 
Selling food, merchandise or other items on the streets of New York City requires adhering to a series of complicated rules and procedures. Separate regulations administered by different agencies apply depending on the item for sale, where the sale takes place, and who is doing the selling. Street vendors are regulated by Department of Consumer and Worker Protection (DCWP), the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (DOHMH), the Department of Sanitation (DSNY), the NYPD, as well as the Departments of Environmental Protection, Finance, and Parks and Recreation. This patchwork of laws and agencies often causes confusion for both vendors and enforcement agencies.
 Broadly speaking, street vending falls into the following four categories: first amendment street vending; street vending by veterans; general merchandise vending; and mobile food vending (MFV). Each type of street vending is governed by specific laws and guidelines, and in some cases, the number of licenses available are capped, as illustrated in the table below.
Types of street vending in New York City[footnoteRef:50] [50:  Information from: Street Vending in NYC Overview and Recommendations from the Street Vendor Advisory Board, May 2022, available at: https://www.nyc.gov/assets/dca/downloads/pdf/partners/SVAB-Report-2022.pdf#:~:text=Overview%20of%20Street%20Vending%20Regulations,-Street%20vending%20in&text=The%20Administrative%20Code%20and%20the,services%20in%20a%20public%20place). ] 

	General Merchandise
Sell goods or services including newspapers, periodicals, books, pamphlets, art
Capped number of licenses: 853
	First Amendment
Exclusively sell newspapers, periodicals,   books, pamphlets, art                        
No license required
No cap

	Veterans
Allowed unlimited general vending permits

License required
No cap (unless vending food, or disabled veterans who wish to vend in the midtown core)
	Mobile Food Vending (MFV)
· 2,900 citywide permits
· 100 citywide permits for veterans and disabled veterans and persons
· 1,000 seasonal permits
· 200 borough specific permits
· 1,000 green cart permits
· 445 new supervisory licenses and permits each year for ten years beginning in 2022



First Amendment vendors – those who sell political or artistic product – do not require a license, but they must abide by various time, place and manner restrictions.[footnoteRef:51]  [51:  NYC Business Solutions “Street Vending” available at: http://www.nyc.gov/html/sbs/nycbiz/downloads/pdf/educational/sector_guides/street_vending.pdf. ] 

Pursuant to section 32 of the General Business Law (GBL) of the State of New York, every honorably discharged member of the armed forces of the United States who is a resident of the state and a veteran of any war or has served overseas has the right to vend upon the streets or highways of the county of their residence.[footnoteRef:52] In the City of New York, all veteran vendor licenses are administered by DCWP in accordance with state law. General vending licenses available to veterans under section 32 of the GBL are unlimited and compel the veteran vendor to comply with all time, place and manner restrictions that regulate general vendors.[footnoteRef:53] Pursuant to state law, general vendor licenses are free of cost to the applicant.  [52:  N.Y. Gen. Bus. Law §32.]  [53:  Id. ] 

Section 35-a of the GBL further provides that veterans who are disabled due to injuries sustained in the line of duty are eligible for a specialized vending license (SVL).[footnoteRef:54] Holders of an SVL may operate on many City streets where vending might be otherwise prohibited.[footnoteRef:55]  [54:  Id. ]  [55:  N.Y. Gen. Bus. Law §35-a.] 

Disabled veterans eligible for an SVL who desire to vend in the “midtown core” of Manhattan must secure a midtown core specialized license (MSVL), which are capped at 105.[footnoteRef:56] The midtown core is defined by the GBL and incorporated into City rules as the area within 13th St (south) and 65th St (north), and 2nd Ave (east) and 9th/Columbus Ave (west).[footnoteRef:57] Pursuant to various city laws and regulations, many streets in the midtown core are fully restricted from vendors.[footnoteRef:58]  [56:  N.Y. Gen. Bus. Law § 35-a(7). and N.Y., Rules, Tit. 6, § 2-315(3).]  [57:  Id. ]  [58:  Including streets closed by the Street Vendor Review Panel and published in N.Y. Rules., Tit. 6, §2-314.] 

SVLs and MSVLs may vend anywhere street vendors are permitted to vend. When these SVLs and MSVLs vend in areas of the City that are available to all street vendors, they must comply with all time, place and manner restrictions found in local law.[footnoteRef:59] When specialized vendors vend in streets that are restricted from other street vendors, they must comply only with the time, place and manner restrictions contained GBL 35-a.[footnoteRef:60] These restrictions largely mirror those found in local law. In significant part, SVLs are limited to two per block face when vending on streets otherwise restricted to street vendors.[footnoteRef:61] MSVLs are limited to one per block face. When a third or second, as applicable, vendor arrives, the priority number on the license determines which vendors may remain.[footnoteRef:62]  [59:  N.Y. Gen. Bus. Law § 35-a(2).]  [60:  N.Y. Gen. Bus. Law §35-a(3).]  [61:  Id.]  [62:  See Rossi v New York City Dep’t of Parks, 2015 WL 1565887. While the court deliberates the meaning of a “block face” for purposes of applying GBL 35-a, it plainly accepted that even a holder of a specialized vending license pursuant to state law must acquire a permit before vending food.] 

As noted above, permits for a mobile food vending unit are capped and 100 permits are set aside exclusively for veterans. In addition to the permits provided in the Code, the Parks Department issues permits to disabled veterans to vend on the sidewalks surrounding the City parks, pursuant to agency rules.[footnoteRef:63] [63:  Rules of the City of New York, Title 24, Sec. 6-13. According to DOHMH and Parks, about 135 permits are issued pursuant to this program.] 

General merchandise vendors require a license that can be obtained through DCWP. Since 1979 there has been a cap on these licenses (at 853).[footnoteRef:64] In 2016, DCWP made efforts to re-establish the waiting list for general vending licenses that previously had not accepted new names since 1993.[footnoteRef:65]  [64:  Local Law 50 of 1979. ]  [65:  NYC Department of Consumer Affairs “Consumer Affairs opens waiting list for general vendor licenses to sell goods and services on the street”, October 25, 2016, available at: https://www1.nyc.gov/site/dca/media/pr102516.page, last accessed December 8, 2023. ] 

The City’s Parks Department also offers vending opportunities, but this market operates separately to the street vending covered by the legislation under consideration. Under the Parks Department model, specific vending locations are determined by the Parks Department and vendors bid for the opportunity to operate at these spots.[footnoteRef:66]  [66:  NYC Parks Department “Concessions”, available at: https://www.nycgovparks.org/opportunities/concessions, last accessed December 8, 2023.] 

Mobile food vending licenses and permits
Selling food on the streets of New York City is known as mobile food vending (MFV) and it is regulated by a number of different agencies and provisions. Before 2021, a critical component of MFV was securing a permit for the physical vending cart. Unlike personal vending licenses that apply to the individual food seller, MFV permits are linked to the food cart, which means that the food vendor and the permit holder could be two different people. The number of available MFV permits has been capped at 3,000 for citywide permits, 200 borough specific permits, 1,000 temporary/seasonal permits and 1,000 green cart permits. The waiting list for new vendors to obtain a permit was also capped at 2,500 and closed in 2007.[footnoteRef:67]  [67:  David Gonzalez, “$20,000 for a Permit? New York May Finally Offer Vendors Some Relief”, New York Times, September 28, 2021, available at https://www.nytimes.com/2021/01/29/nyregion/street-vendors-permits-nyc.html.   ] 

The decades-long cap on permits created an underground market for legacy permit holders to illegally rent their permits to new vendors for thousands of dollars per year.[footnoteRef:68] It is alleged that the rental price for a cart permit on the illegal market could run between $15,000 and $30,000 annually.[footnoteRef:69] It was estimated that the illegal market in New York City’s mobile food vending industry was worth between $15 million and $20 million per year and approximately 70%-80% of permits were illegally in use.[footnoteRef:70] The proliferation of the underground market meant that it was “harder for immigrant entrepreneurs to build equity and take the first step up the economic ladder.”[footnoteRef:71]  [68:  Id. ]  [69:  See for example Adam Davidson “The food-truck business stinks”, New York Times, May 7, 2013, available at: https://www.nytimes.com/2013/05/12/magazine/the-food-truck-business-stinks.html; Tejal Rao “A day in the life of a food vendor”, New York Times, April 18, 2017, available at: https://www.nytimes.com/2017/04/18/dining/halal-cart-food-vendor-new-york-city.html. ]  [70:  Id. ]  [71:  Jeff Koyen, “Inside the Underground Economy Propping Up New York City’s Food Carts” Crains, June 12, 2016, available at: https://www.crainsnewyork.com/article/20160612/HOSPITALITY_TOURISM/160619986/hot-dog-vendors-and-coffee-carts-turn-to-a-black-market-operating-in-the-open-to-buy-permits-and-licen.  ] 

To address these issues, the Council passed Local Law 18 of 2021, which established a new licensing and permitting scheme for MFVs and required the City to issue 445 new permits each year for 10 consecutive years.[footnoteRef:72] Pursuant to this law, beginning in 2032, all MFVs would be required to obtain a supervisory license. All supervisory license holders would be entitled to a supervisory permit. Under the new scheme, a supervisory permit holder or another holder of a supervisory license must be physically present and vending at the mobile vending unit to prevent the illegal market in vending permits.[footnoteRef:73] [72:  Local Law 18 of 2021, available at: https://legistar.council.nyc.gov/LegislationDetail.aspx?ID=3686667&GUID=A0683818-66E6-4651-8B31-3D65EE4D61B1&Options=ID|Text|&Search=18. ]  [73:  NYC Health “Supervisory Licenses: What Mobile Food Vendors Need to Know” available at: https://www.nyc.gov/assets/doh/downloads/pdf/rii/supervisory-licenses-what-vendors-need-to-know.pdf. ] 

Currently, there are six different types of permits in circulation: 
Supervisory license permit: These permits are available to supervisory license holders and allow year-round vending. There are 445 new permits offered each year, 45 of those permits are exclusively available to veteran vendors and 300 of those permits are restricted to boroughs other than Manhattan. By July 1, 2032, all legacy permit holders of citywide permits and borough specific permits must transition to supervisory permits. At that time, it will be unlawful to vend without a supervisory license holder present.[footnoteRef:74] There are approximately 10,000 vendors on waiting lists to obtain a supervisory license and permit.[footnoteRef:75] The cost for this permit is $438.[footnoteRef:76] [74:  Ad. Code § 17-307(b)(1)(a). ]  [75:  Hafeezat Bishi, “8 months later, NYC vendors are still fighting for officials to fulfill their promises”, Prism, March 27, 2023, available at: https://prismreports.org/2023/03/27/nyc-vendors-fight-officials-fulfill-promises/#:~:text=The%20department%20told%20Prism%20they,the%20end%20of%20the%20month. ]  [76:  NYC Health “Supervisory Licenses: What Mobile Food Vendors Need to Know”, available at: https://www.nyc.gov/assets/doh/downloads/pdf/rii/supervisory-license-presentation.pdf. ] 

Citywide permit: Prior to the enactment of Local Law 18, this was the most valuable and sought after food vending permit. It allows mobile food vendors to vend across all five boroughs, year round. The cap on these permits is 3,000 (100 are set aside for veterans or people with a disability), and the permit is valid for two years.[footnoteRef:77] Upon renewal of such permit, permit holders are entitled to apply for a supervisory license and permit.  [77:  NYC Health “What mobile food vendors should know”, available at: https://www1.nyc.gov/assets/doh/downloads/pdf/rii/regulations-for-mobile-food-vendors.pdf, p. 4, last accessed January 22, 2019.] 

Borough specific permit: This permit restricts food vendors from vending in Manhattan and only allows the holder to operate in the other four boroughs. There are 200 of these permits in total (50 for each borough) and the permit is valid for two years.[footnoteRef:78] Upon renewal of such permit, permit holders are entitled to apply for a supervisory license and permit. [78:  NYC Health, available at: https://www.nyc.gov/site/doh/business/food-operators/mobile-and-temporary-food-vendors.page. ] 

Temporary (seasonal) permit: This allows vendors to sell food in all boroughs, but sales are only permitted from April 1 to October 31. This permit must be renewed each year and there are 1,000 permits in total.[footnoteRef:79] For food that is prepared on-site, the permit costs $35 and for prepared foods, the permit is $15.[footnoteRef:80]  [79:  Ad. Code § 17-307(f)(3)(a)(i). ]  [80:  NYC Health, “Mobile Food Vending Permit, Application Forms and Instructions,” p. 5, available at: https://www.nyc.gov/assets/doh/downloads/pdf/sbs/mfv-new-permit-application.pdf, last accessed December 8, 2023.] 

Green cart permit: This limits food vendors to selling fruits and vegetables, bottled drinking water and plain nuts. Vendors with these permits are restricted to selling their produce in one borough only, and they are limited to certain areas within the specific borough. The designated areas are demarcated according to police districts.[footnoteRef:81] There are in total 1,000 of these permits available, 350 for Brooklyn, 350 for the Bronx, 150 for Manhattan, 100 for Queens and 50 for Staten Island.[footnoteRef:82] The green cart program was implemented under Mayor Bloomberg as a way to address New York City food deserts and to encourage healthy eating by New Yorkers.[footnoteRef:83] These permits are valid for two years and initially cost $75. The cost to renew the permit is $50.[footnoteRef:84] [81:  For a map of green cart designated areas see: “NYC green cart”, available at: https://www1.nyc.gov/assets/doh/downloads/pdf/cdp/green_carts_areas.pdf, last accessed December 6, 2023.]  [82:  NYC Health “Green Carts”, available at: https://www.nyc.gov/site/doh/business/food-operators/green-carts.page, last accessed December 6, 2023.]  [83:  “‘Green carts’ will increase access to health foods, improving the health of an estimated 75,000 New Yorkers”, available at: https://www1.nyc.gov/assets/doh/downloads/pdf/cdp/green_carts_summary.pdf, last accessed December 6, 2023.]  [84:  NYC Health “General Information About New York City Green Carts”, available at: https://www.nyc.gov/assets/doh/downloads/pdf/cdp/green_carts_faq.pdf, last accessed December 6, 2023.] 

Restricted area permit: These permits restrict MFVs to selling on private property and it requires a lease agreement from the property owner. There are no limits on the number of these permits and they are valid for two or less years, depending on the lease agreement.[footnoteRef:85] If the foods for sale at these carts are prepared or processed on-site, the cost for this permit is $200. If the food is pre-packaged, the cost for the permit is $75.[footnoteRef:86] [85:  NYC Business, “ Restricted area mobile food vending permit - Apply,” available at: https://nyc-business.nyc.gov/nycbusiness/description/restricted-area-permit/apply, last accessed December 8, 2023.]  [86:  Id. ] 

Specialized vendor permit: These permits allow year-round vending along the perimeters of New York City parks. Although there is no cap on the number of these permits, only veterans with a disability are eligible for these permits.[footnoteRef:87]  [87:  NYC Sanitation “Mobile Food Vendor Licensing Law: Educational Highlights and Tips to Help Understand the Regulations”, available at: https://dsny.cityofnewyork.us/wp-content/uploads/2023/05/mobile-food-vendor-educational-highlights-tips.pdf. ] 

To sell food from a mobile vending unit in New York City, individuals must obtain a personal license for MFV. The application for this license can be made in person at New York’s Citywide Licensing Center (under DCWP), although the license is issued by DOHMH.[footnoteRef:88] A full-term license is valid for two years and costs $50, while a seasonal license (valid from April 1 to October 31) costs $10.[footnoteRef:89] There are no costs for honorably discharged U.S. veterans, or their surviving spouse/domestic partner. These licenses are issued as a photo ID. There are no caps on the number of Mobile Food Vendor Personal Licenses issued by DOHMH,[footnoteRef:90] and there are estimated to be about 19,000 vendors with these licenses.[footnoteRef:91]  [88:  NYC Health “Instructions for applying for an initial mobile food vendor license form the NYC Health Department”, available at: https://www1.nyc.gov/assets/doh/downloads/pdf/permit/mfv_application_forms_package.pdf, last accessed December 6, 2023.]  [89:  Id. Note that supervisory licenses, which come with the right to a permit, cost more.]  [90:  Id. ]  [91:  Kathleen Dunn “Decriminalize street vending: Reform and social justice”, in Julian Agyeman, Caitlin Matthews and Hannah Sobel Food Trucks, Cultural Identity, and Social Justice (2017), MIT Press; Cambridge, MA, p. 51.] 

As part of securing a personal MFV license, all applicants must take a mobile food vending protection course.[footnoteRef:92] The course is run over two days with a four-hour class each day. The course costs $53 and is available to take in multiple languages.[footnoteRef:93] Lastly, mobile food vendors also need to obtain a Certificate of Authority from the New York State Department of Taxation and Finance, which bestows the right to collect tax on applicable items.[footnoteRef:94]  [92:  NYC Business “Mobile food vending license – About”, available at: https://www1.nyc.gov/nycbusiness/description/mobile-food-vending-license, last accessed December 8, 2023.]  [93:  NYC Business “Food protection course for mobile vendors – About”, available at: https://www1.nyc.gov/nycbusiness/description/food-protection-course-for-mobile-vendors, last accessed December 8, 2023. ]  [94:  NYC Business “Mobile food vending license – Apply”, available at: https://www1.nyc.gov/nycbusiness/description/mobile-food-vending-license/apply, last accessed December 6, 2023. ] 

Local Law 18, which created a new type of MFV license called a supervisory license, changed what is required of vendors operating a food vending cart. Pursuant to this local law, a supervisory license holder must be working at a cart with a supervisory license permit, or risk a penalty of $1,000 for operating without a supervisory licensee. By July 1, 2032, all permitted vending carts must be operated by a supervisory licensee. Pursuant to this law, MVF licensees may work on a mobile food vending unit, but a supervisory license holder must also be present.  
Mobile food vending equipment and placement regulations
In addition to the license and permit required to sell food in New York City, the cart used to sell food must meet a long list of regulations. These regulations vary and are determined by the types of foods sold. For example, carts for prepacked foods require overhead structures (such as an umbrella or canopy), thermometers and both hot and cold storage (i.e. food warmers or refrigeration). Carts that sell grilled meats are also required to have these elements, in addition to potable water, sinks for washing food and cooking utensils as well as a handwashing sink and ventilation.[footnoteRef:95] The size of the cart is also restricted and regulated, as are the water and propane tanks.[footnoteRef:96] These tables below demonstrate the variety of regulations.  [95:  NYC Health, Rules and Regulations for Mobile Food Vending, available at: www.nyc.gov/assets/doh/downloads/pdf/rii/rules-regs-mfv.pdf. ]  [96:  Id. ] 

Equipment requirments: MFV processing units[footnoteRef:97] [97:  John C. Jones “The regulation of mobile food vending in New York City”, Graduate Association For Food Studies, September 13, 2016, vol. 3, no. 1, available at: https://gradfoodstudies.org/2016/09/13/regulation-of-mobile-food-vending/.] 
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Equipment requirments: MFV non-processing units[footnoteRef:98] [98:  Id. ] 
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DOHMH is required to inspect food vending carts before a permit is initially issued and. at least once a year thereafter. Inspections are also conducted when the permit requires renewal, if modifications are made to the cart, if there have been complaints or reports made about potential violations, to follow up a Health Commissioner order, or to correct a violation.[footnoteRef:99] Since the passage of Local Law 108 of 2017, mobile food vending carts must also be inspected and issued a letter grade similar to restaurants and other food establishments.[footnoteRef:100]  [99:  Id. ]  [100:  NYC Health “Letter grading for mobile food vending units: What vendors need to know”, available at: https://www1.nyc.gov/assets/doh/downloads/pdf/rii/mfv-what-vendors-need-to-know.pdf, last accessed December 8, 2023. ] 

Broadly speaking, mobile food vendors who have citywide permits or supervisory license permits are permitted to sell food on many New York City streets; however, there are many limitations. For instance, there are more than five hundred specific streets where vending is banned,[footnoteRef:101] while other streets are restricted to certain times and days of the year.[footnoteRef:102] This may be due to the width of the sidewalk, a need to keep the street clear from obstructions (for example, around security checkpoints), or because the area is overly congested. Once a suitable street has been located, food vendors must then navigate the sidewalk regulations. Listed below are but a few examples of where the cart can be set-up: [101:  Kathleen Dunn, at note 42, p. 52. ]  [102:  See “Mobile food vending restricted streets guide,” available at: https://www1.nyc.gov/assets/doh/downloads/pdf/permit/mfv_restricted_streets.pdf, last accessed December 8, 2023. ] 

1) On a sidewalk that is at least 12 feet wide; 
2) Within 6-12 inches of the curb; 
3) At least 10 feet away from any crosswalk, driveway or subway entrance/exit; or
4) In an area that is not designated as a ‘no standing zone’, a bus stop or a hospital.[footnoteRef:103]  [103:  NYC Health, at note 46. ] 

At the close of business, food vendors must remove their carts from the street, and the carts must be stored and cleaned in a DOHMH approved facility – usually a commissary or depot. Regulations also require MFVs to prepare their foods for the day at, or to purchase pre-prepared foods from, the commissary.[footnoteRef:104] The cost to store a cart at a depot or commissary is in the hundreds of dollars per month.[footnoteRef:105] [104:  Id.]  [105:  See for example Jeff Koyen “Inside the underground economy propping up New York city’s food carts”, Crains, June 12, 2016, available at: https://www.crainsnewyork.com/article/20160612/HOSPITALITY_TOURISM/160619986/hot-dog-vendors-and-coffee-carts-turn-to-a-black-market-operating-in-the-open-to-buy-permits-and-licen. ] 

Vending on bridges
Concerns about overcrowding and load bearing capacity on the City’s bridges led to calls for restrictions of vending on bridges.[footnoteRef:106] This is a particular concern on the Brooklyn Bridge, where the relocation of bicycle lanes expanded pedestrian walkways, doubled foot traffic, and led to an increase in the number of vendors operating on the Brooklyn Bridge.[footnoteRef:107] [106:  Kevin Duggan, “Bridge Vending Ban Gains Public Support As Vendors Beg For Compromise,” Streets Blog NYC, November 16, 2023, available at: https://nyc.streetsblog.org/2023/11/16/bridge-vending-ban-gains-public-support-as-vendors-beg-for-compromise.]  [107:  Id.] 

In October 2023, the Department of Transportation (DOT) proposed a rule that prohibits vending on all of its 789 bridges and bridge approaches.[footnoteRef:108] The rule also prohibits vendors from stopping along bridges to sell or display goods. A public hearing was held on the proposed rule on November 15, 2023, with many public comments in favor of restrictions to vending on the bridge. The rule was adopted on January 3, 2024, and the NYPD began its enforcement the same day by removing all vendors operating on the Brooklyn Bridge.[footnoteRef:109]  [108:  NYC Rules, “Prohibition of Vending on Elevated Pedestrian Walkways and Bicycle Lanes on a Bridge or Bridge Approaches,” available at: https://rules.cityofnewyork.us/rule/prohibition-of-vending-on-elevated-pedestrian-walkways-bicycle-lane-on-a-bridge-or-bridge-approaches/]  [109:  Jake Offenhartz, “New York City evicts vendors from Brooklyn Bridge, ending a bustling tourist market to ease crowding”, AP News, January 3, 2024, available at: https://apnews.com/article/brooklyn-bridge-vendor-ban-nyc-344f9a6735cef45da2f68a0e3c185217.  ] 

B.	Street Vending Enforcement
The abovementioned rules and regulations are not an exhaustive list of all the applicable rules, which is why there is often confusion from both vendors and enforcement agents, as well as the general public, as to where street vendors may legally operate. Prior to Local Law 18, enforcement for vending laws was handled by DCWP, DOHMH and NYPD. Local Law 18 established the Office of Street Vendor Enforcement (OSVE) as the primary enforcement agency for street vending. The office was established in DCWP in 2021 and transferred to DSNY on April 1, 2023.[footnoteRef:110] During the approximately two years that OSVE was in DCWP, 14 vendor inspectors conducted more than 25,000 inspections, issued 2,875 vending-related summonses, and authorized confiscations of vendor goods 37 times.[footnoteRef:111] From the time OSVE was transferred to DSNY on April 1, 2023 through September 14, 2023, the Department’s 40 employees devoted to vending enforcement conducted 1,568 inspections, issued 485 violations, and authorized confiscations in 423 instances.[footnoteRef:112]  [110:  Mayor Eric Adams, Letter to Commissioners Mayuga and Tisch, March 20, 2023, available at: https://www.nyc.gov/assets/dca/downloads/pdf/about/NYC-Office-of-Street-Vendor-Enforcement-Re-establish-Within-DSNY.pdf, last accessed December 8, 2023. ]  [111:  Mayor Eric Adams, Letter to Comptroller Lander, September 27, 2023, provided to the Council by the Office of the Comptroller. ]  [112:  Id.] 

Penalties
Any person who vends without a license is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $1,000, by imprisonment of up to three months, or both.[footnoteRef:113] Unlicensed general vendors are subject to fines and imprisonment, in addition to penalties for each day of unlicensed business activity. General vendors who violate time, place and manner requirements set forth in the Code face fines of up to $500 for multiple offenses over a two-year period. Both licensed and unlicensed vendors may have their carts or goods seized for certain transgressions and face possible forfeiture of their possessions. Authorized officers and employees of DCWP and DSNY have the power to enforce the laws, rules, and regulations related to general vendors.  [113:  See Ad. Code §20-472, however, Introduction 1264-2023 would repeal misdemeanor criminal penalties for general vendors.] 

Any person who vends food without the appropriate license and permit is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $1,000, by imprisonment of up to three months, or both.[footnoteRef:114] Food vendors who violate time, place and manner the requirements set forth in the Code face fines of up to $500 for multiple offenses over a two-year period, possible forfeiture of their possessions, and may have their carts or goods seized for certain transgressions. They may also have their licenses suspended or revoked for certain fraudulent activity, or for three or more violations of the Code within a two-year period. Unlicensed food vendors are subject to additional fines and may have their carts and goods seized. Authorized officers and employees of DOHMH and DSNY have the power to enforce the laws, rules, and regulations relating to food vendors [114:  See Ad. Code §17-325, however, Introduction 1264-2023 would repeal misdemeanor criminal penalties for mobile food vendors.] 

VI. STREET VENDING ISSUES AND CONCERNS
As discussed above, the caps on both general and food vendors have caused the illegal market to flourish and most street vendors in New York City work illegally. Recognizing this, Mayor Dinkins previously proposed lifting the cap on permits, but the policy was never implemented.[footnoteRef:115] Under Mayor Bloomberg’s administration, the City did expand its vending opportunities by creating a green cart initiative that made 1,000 new permits available to vendors who exclusively sold raw and uncut/unprepared fruits and vegetables. Given the tight restrictions on the types of food that vendors could sell, this program has not attracted many vendors and, according to research from 2011, only 350 of these permits have been issued.[footnoteRef:116]  [115:  Ryan Thomas Devlin “Informal urbanism: Legal ambiguity, uncertainty, and the management of street vending in New York City” (dissertation), University of California, Spring 2010, available at: https://escholarship.org/content/qt948005rd/qt948005rd.pdf?t=mtff66, p. 7. ]  [116:  Rembert Browne et al, at note 1, p. 17. ] 

Establishing where vendors can lawfully operate has always been a contentious issue for the City. During his term, Mayor Giuliani established the Street Vendor Review Panel (SVRP), the only body able to restrict streets to vending by rulemaking. However, after many contentious street closures and numerous court cases, the SVRP came to be seen as fundamentally undemocratic, classist, and overly restrictive. Its last ruling was in 2000.[footnoteRef:117] [117:  Ryan Thomas Devlin, p. 70-76. ] 

Some vendors criticize excessive penalties for minor infractions and arbitrary enforcement of vendor regulations, and believe they are unfairly and disproportionately targeted by City government. A 2011 study by the Urban Justice Center’s Street Vendor Project found that of the 949 summonses issued to fruit and vegetable vendors in Forsyth Street market by the Environmental Control Board (“ECB”), 63% were written for two arguably trivial offenses – 50% for not keeping items in or under the cart and 13% for failing to display a food vendor license.[footnoteRef:118] In response to these concerns, in 2013, the Council reduced the maximum penalty that may be assessed for certain time place and manner restrictions from $1,000 to $500.[footnoteRef:119] [118:  Street Vendor Project of the Urban Justice Center, “Spoiled! How relentless enforcement and $1,000 tickets are ruining Chinatown’s largest fruit and vegetable market”, July 20, 2011, available at: https://search.issuelab.org/resource/spoiled-how-relentless-enforcement-and-1-000-tickets-are-ruining-chinatown-s-largest-fruit-and-vegetable-market.html last accessed December 8, 2023.]  [119:  Local Law 38 of 2013.] 

Various community boards, businesses, BIDs and individuals have voiced their concern to the City Council about unlawful activity by street vendors, including the frequent violation of time, place and manner restrictions, and congestion in certain locations that force pedestrians into the street—thus raising a public safety concern. In response to these concerns, the Council made several amendments to time, place and manner restrictions in 2013, such as prohibiting vending in hospital no standing zones,[footnoteRef:120] in taxi stands,[footnoteRef:121] near entrances and service entrances,[footnoteRef:122] and requiring that notice of violation issued to a food vendors contain the permit number of the mobile vending unit.[footnoteRef:123] [120:  Local Law 19 of 2013. ]  [121:  Local Law 17 of 2013.]  [122:  Local Law 18 of 2013.]  [123:  Local Law 20 of 2013.] 

In 2021, the Council passed Local Law 18, which expanded the number of permits available, now referred to as supervisory licenses; created a new dedicated vending law enforcement unit, called the Street Vendor Enforcement Unit; and established a Street Vendor Advisory Board, to assess the effectiveness of the enforcement unit and the roll-out of new permits, and issue recommendations.[footnoteRef:124] The first batch of new supervisory licenses were released on March 16, 2023. As of September 27, 2023, 445 applications for supervisory licenses had been released to people on the waitlist, but just 151 supervisory license applications had been submitted to DOHMH and, of those, only 14 supervisory license holders had received supervisory permits.[footnoteRef:125] DOHMH is required to make an additional 445 supervisory license applications available each year on July 1 for ten years. In addition, advocates have argued that releasing 445 supervisory licenses each year for ten years is not expansive enough to meet the needs of the current market, which include as many as 20,000 street vendors.[footnoteRef:126]  [124:  Local Law 18 of 2021, available at: https://legistar.council.nyc.gov/LegislationDetail.aspx?ID=3686667&GUID=A0683818-66E6-4651-8B31-3D65EE4D61B1&Options=ID|Text|&Search=18. ]  [125:  Mayor Eric Adams, Letter to Comptroller Lander, September 27, 2023, provided to the Council by the Office of the Comptroller. ]  [126:  Maggie Duffy, “In New York, Street Vendors Fought For and Won a Law for More Permits. They’re Still Waiting On Them.” Mother Jones, October 20, 2022, available at: https://www.motherjones.com/food/2022/10/in-new-york-street-vendors-fought-for-and-won-a-law-for-more-permits-theyre-still-waiting-on-them/. ] 

Local Law 18 of 2021 also established a Street Vendor Advisory Board comprised of five city agencies and ten additional stakeholders nominated by the Speaker and the Mayor who represent street vendors, retail food stores, property owners, small businesses, and community organizations.[footnoteRef:127] The Street Vendor Advisory Board issued a report in May 2022 with 16 unanimous recommendations, some of which informed the legislation the Committee will hear.[footnoteRef:128] [127:  Local Law 18 of 2021, available at: https://legistar.council.nyc.gov/LegislationDetail.aspx?ID=3686667&GUID=A0683818-66E6-4651-8B31-3D65EE4D61B1&Options=ID|Text|&Search=18.]  [128:  Street Vendor Advisory Board, “Street Vending in NYC: Overview and Recommendations
from the Street Vendor Advisory Board,” May 25, 2022, available at: https://www.nyc.gov/assets/dca/downloads/pdf/partners/SVAB-Report-2022.pdf. ] 

Many residents and businesses continue to express concerns about unlicensed vending, congestion caused by vending, and vending-related sanitation issues.[footnoteRef:129] In Corona Plaza, for example, DSNY shut down a group of more than 80 street vendors in July 2023 after receiving complaints of unlicensed vending.[footnoteRef:130] The vendors, many of whom were immigrant residents, were prohibited from vending in the bustling plaza, which was named one of the best places to eat in NYC by The New York Times.[footnoteRef:131] Four months after the sweep, the City decided to establish a vending marketplace in Corona Plaza for a limited number of vendors. The first regulated community vending area of its kind, operated by the Queens Economic Development Corporation, will allow fourteen vendors to operate five days a week in Corona Plaza.[footnoteRef:132] Dozens of vendors will take turns operating within the fourteen stalls.[footnoteRef:133] On November 29, 2023, a handful of general vendors were able to return to the Plaza to sell their wares in the new marketplace. [129:  Hafeezat Bishi, “8 months later, NYC vendors are still fighting for officials to fulfill their promises,” Prism, March 27, 2023, available at: https://prismreports.org/2023/03/27/nyc-vendors-fight-officials-fulfill-promises/#:~:text=There%20currently%20are%20more%20than,based%20on%20the%20new%20law. ]  [130:  Arya Sundaram, “After street vendor crackdown, Corona Plaza market is a changed place,” Gothamist, September 13, 2023, available at: https://gothamist.com/news/after-street-vendor-crackdown-corona-plaza-market-is-a-changed-place. ]  [131:  Pete Wells, “The 100 Best Restaurants in New York City 2023,” The New York Times, April 18, 2023, available at: https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2023/dining/best-nyc-restaurants.html ]  [132:  Bill Parry “Street vendors will return to Corona Plaza in scaled-down community area,” Jackson Heights Post, November 28, 2023, available at: https://jacksonheightspost.com/street-vendors-will-return-to-corona-plaza-in-scaled-down-community-area.  ]  [133:  Haidee Chu, “Vendors Return to Corona Plaza—With Tough Competition For Just Over a Dozen Stalls,” The City, November 30, 2023, available at: https://www.thecity.nyc/2023/11/30/corona-plaza-vendors-stalls-queens/. ] 

VII. BILL ANALYSIS

Preconsidered Int. No., in relation to requiring the posting of lithium-ion battery safety guides in places of business and online retail platforms that sell powered mobility devices.
This bill would require all businesses that sell e-bikes, e-scooters and other personal mobility devices powered by batteries to post lithium-ion battery safety informational materials and guides. Section 20-699.21 would define “powered mobility device” to include motorized bicycles, motorized scooters, and other mobility devices that use lithium-ion or other storage batteries. Subdivision a of section 20-699.22 would require the commissioner to post lithium-ion battery safety materials in any business that sells powered mobility devices. Subdivision b of section 20-699.22 would require powered mobility device retailers to post such safety information where the device would be sold. Subdivision c of section 20-699.22 would require online retailers to post such materials. Subdivision d of section 20-699.21 would establish civil penalties of $150 for the first violation, $250 for the second violation and $350 for the third and subsequent violations. This bill would take effect 180 days after it becomes law. 

Preconsidered Int. No., in relation to third-party delivery workers and powered bicycle safety.
This bill would require the delivery worker bicycle safety course developed by the Department of Transportation (“DOT”) to cover the safe and lawful operation of powered bicycles, as well as lithium-ion battery and charging safety. In addition, it would require third-party delivery companies to provide their delivery workers with bicycle safety equipment, including protective headgear, a lamp, a bell or other signaling device, brakes, and reflective material. It would also require third-party delivery companies to ensure that their delivery workers complete the bicycle safety course developed by DOT. The bill would amend paragraph 3 of subdivision e of section 10-157 to add the safe and lawful operation of powered bicycles, lithium-ion batteries and charging safety to the bicycle safety course information that is provided by DOT. Subdivision b of section 20-563.2 would be amended to include that all third-party food delivery services comply with the requirements in subdivisions e and f of section 10-157, which includes the bicycle safety course requirement for all businesses using bicycles for commercial purposes. This bill would take effect 90 days after it becomes law.

Preconsidered Int. No., in relation to creating licensing requirements for electric bicycle or scooter businesses.
This bill would require electric bicycle or scooter businesses to obtain a license in order to do business in the City. Section 20-565 would define “electric bicycle or scooter business” as a business that engages in selling, renting or maintaining powered bicycles or powered mobility devices, which would include batteries and storage. It would define “licensee” as any person that is licensed to sell electric bicycles or scooters. It would define “powered bicycle” as a bicycle with electric assist. It would define “powered mobility device” as an electric scooter or other personal mobility device powered by a lithium-ion or other storage battery. Subdivision a of section 20-565.1 would require anyone operating an electric bicycle or scooter business to have a license. Subdivision b of section 20-565.1 would require such operator to apply for a license with a sworn statement certifying that they are in compliance with UL certification requirements, fire code requirements and can provide a copy of their liability insurance policy. Section 20-656.2 would require licensees comply with all laws, rules and regulations; carry liability insurance; and file annual declarations related to compliance. Section 20-563.3 would authorize the Department, in coordination with the Fire Department, to conduct inspections to ensure compliance. Section 20-565.4 would authorize the Department to suspend, revoke or reject a license upon a determination, after notice and a hearing, that the applicant or licensee failed to comply with the duties required, or has practiced fraud or misrepresentation in meeting their requirements. Section 20-565.5 would authorize a civil penalty of no less than $1,000 a day for unlicensed operation. Section 20-565.6 would require licensees to display their license outwardly. Section 20-565.7 would require the Commissioner to conduct outreach in designated citywide languages to affected businesses. This bill would take effect 180 days after becoming law.

Preconsidered Int. No., in relation to safety standards for powered bicycles and powered mobility devices used for food delivery services.
This bill would establish safety standards for powered bicycles and powered mobility devices when used for food delivery services. The bill would amend section 20-1501 by adding the definition of “powered mobility device” as a powered bicycle or powered mobility device. Section 20-1526 would require that powered mobility devices operated by food delivery workers on behalf of a third-party courier service be UL certified. Such device would be provided by the third party platform or by the delivery worker, but would not be provided at the food delivery worker’s expense as a term of their employment. This bill would take effect 6 months after it becomes law. 

Preconsidered Int. No., in relation to record keeping and reporting on the disposal of rechargeable batteries used for powered mobility devices.
This bill would create record keeping and reporting requirements for entities that purchase or accept second-use rechargeable lithium-ion batteries that power devices such as e-bikes and electric scooters. The bill would amend section 20-1501 by adding the definition of “powered mobility device” as any bicycle with electric assist, any scooter with electric assist, a motorized scooter, and any other device powered by a lithium-ion storage battery. Section 20-1525 would require entities that purchase used batteries or accept used batteries from powered mobility devices to keep a record of their practices and report their practices to the Department. This would include reporting on the number and type of batteries purchased or accepted and the manner of disposal of such batteries. It would also require the Department to post a summary of these reports on their website. This bill would take effect 90 days after it becomes law.

Preconsidered Int. No., in relation to vending on bridges.
Under current law, general vendors and mobile food vendors can vend freely on pedestrian walkways on bridges and bridge approached. This bill would prohibit vending on bridge approaches, restrict vending to pedestrian walkways that have at least a sixteen-foot clear pedestrian path, and prohibit vending within 20 feet of another vendor. This bill would take effect 30 days after it becomes law.  

Preconsidered Int. No., in relation to permitting street vendors to vend within two feet from the curb.
Under current law, general vending and mobile food vending pushcarts are required to abut the curb. This bill would allow pushcarts to be placed within two feet of the curb unless there is an obstruction which would prevent such placement, then the pushcart would be placed as close as possible to the obstruction. This bill would take effect 120 days after it becomes law. 

Preconsidered Int. No., in relation to repealing the misdemeanor criminal penalties for general vendors and mobile food vendors.
Under current law, general vendors and mobile food vendors can be charged with a misdemeanor for certain vending violations. This bill would remove all misdemeanor penalties for general vendors and mobile food vendors and replace them with an offense, which would be punishable by a fine of not more than $1,000. This bill would take effect immediately.

Preconsidered Int. No., in relation to vendor display and storage of goods, and to repeal sections 17-313 and 20-463 of such code, relating to bookkeeping requirements.
Currently, food vendors must keep items either inside or under their food carts. Section 1 of this bill would allow mobile food vendors to place their items on top of their cart. Section 2 of this bill would clarify the size requirements for general vendor displays. General vendor displays would not exceed five feet in height unless such vendor display includes an umbrella. 
Currently, general vendors and mobile food vendors must keep written records of sales, purchases and expenses, which must be available for inspection by the City. Sections 3 and 4 of this bill would repeal all bookkeeping requirements for general vendors and mobile food vendors. This bill would take effect immediately. 

Preconsidered Int. No., in relation to the requirement of food vendors to obtain a certificate of authority to collect sales tax.
Currently, all mobile food vendor licensees are required to obtain a certificate of authority to collect sales tax. This bill would remove such a requirement unless the applicant is applying for a permit or a supervisory license. This bill would take effect 90 days after it becomes law.

Preconsidered Int. No., in relation to prohibiting vending or vendor-related activity in bicycle lanes.
This bill would prohibit mobile food vendors and general vendors from vending in bicycle lanes. It would also prohibit mobile food vendors and general vendors from blocking a bicycle lane with vending-related items. This bill would take effect 30 days after it becomes law.
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Int. No. 

By Council Members Brewer and Rivera

..Title
A Local Law to amend the administrative code of the city of New York, in relation to requiring the posting of lithium-ion battery safety guides in places of business and online retail platforms that sell powered mobility devices
..Body

Be it enacted by the Council as follows:


37

1
Section 1. Chapter 4 of title 20 of the administrative code of the city of New York is amended by adding a new subchapter 15 to read as follows:
SUBCHAPTER 15
POWERED MOBILITY DEVICES
§ 20-699.21 Definitions. For the purposes of this subchapter, the term “powered mobility devices” means motorized bicycles, motorized scooters, and other personal mobility devices powered by a lithium-ion or other storage battery. The term does not include motor vehicles or motorcycles or other mobility devices that must be registered with the New York state department of motor vehicles.
§ 20-699.22 Fire safety; posting of information. a. The commissioner shall require the posting of lithium-ion battery safety informational materials and guides in all places of business that sell powered mobility devices. 
b. Any person who sells or offers for sale a powered mobility device in a physical retail location shall conspicuously post such materials and guides near the location where such a device is offered for sale. 
c. Any person who sells or offers for sale a powered mobility device on an online retail platform shall conspicuously post a hyperlink to such materials and guides from each webpage where such a device is offered for sale.  
d. The violation of any provision of this section shall be punishable by a civil penalty of $150 for a first violation, $250 for a second violation, and $350 for a third or subsequent violation. Each day in which a violation continues constitutes a separate violation. 
§ 2. This local law takes effect 180 days after it becomes law.
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Int. No. 

By Council Members Brewer and Rivera

..Title
A Local Law to amend the administrative code of the city of New York, in relation to third-party delivery workers and powered bicycle safety
..Body

Be it enacted by the Council as follows:





2

40

Section 1. Paragraph (3) of subdivision e of section 10-157 of the administrative code of the city of New York, as amended by local law number 91 for the year 2017, is amended to read as follows:
(3) Each bicycle operator shall complete a bicycle safety course prior to making deliveries or otherwise operating a bicycle on behalf of a business using a bicycle for commercial purposes. For purposes of this section, "bicycle safety course" shall mean information provided by the department of transportation regarding safe bicycling, [and] adherence to traffic and commercial bicycle laws, safe and lawful operation of powered bicycles within the meaning of section 20-609, and lithium-ion battery and charging safety.
§ 2. Subdivision b of section 20-563.2 of the administrative code of the city of New York is amended by adding a new paragraph 4 to read as follows:
4. Unless it has already done so pursuant to section 10-157, a third-party food delivery service shall comply with the requirements of subdivisions e and f of section 10-157 applicable to a business using a bicycle for commercial purposes and shall ensure that each person it hires, retains, or engages as a bicycle operator within the meaning of section 10-157 complies with subdivision e of such section. 
§ 3. This local law takes effect 90 days after it becomes law.
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Int. No. 
 
By Council Members Brewer and Rivera

..Title
A Local Law to amend the administrative code of the city of New York, in relation to creating licensing requirements for electric bicycle or scooter businesses
..Body

Be it enacted by the Council as follows:
 
Section 1. Chapter 2 of title 20 of the administrative code of the city of New York is amended by adding a new subchapter 37 to read as follows:
SUBCHAPTER 37
ELECTRIC BICYCLE OR SCOOTER BUSINESS
[bookmark: _Hlk126331969]§ 20-565 Definitions. For purposes of this subchapter, the following terms have the following meanings:
Electric bicycle or scooter business. The term "electric bike or scooter business" means any business that engages in commercial activity of which a significant proportion is focused on the sale, rental or maintenance of powered bicycles or powered mobility devices, including but not limited to the sale, rental, storage, charging, or repair, of such equipment and related storage batteries. 
Licensee. The term “licensee” means any person that is currently licensed by the department to engage in the operation of an electric bicycle or scooter business. 
Powered bicycle. The term “powered bicycle” means a bicycle with electric assist as defined in section 102-c of the vehicle and traffic law.
Powered mobility device. The term “powered mobility device” means an electric scooter as defined in section 114-e of the vehicle and traffic law or successor provision or other personal mobility device powered by a lithium-ion or other storage battery. The term does not include powered bicycles, wheelchairs or other mobility devices designed for use by persons with disabilities, or any vehicle that is capable of being registered with the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles. 
§ 20-565.1 License. a. License required. It shall be unlawful for any person to operate an electric bicycle or scooter business without first having obtained a license therefor issued pursuant to this subchapter. All licenses issued pursuant to this subchapter shall be valid for no more than three years.
b. License application. An application for any license required under this subchapter or for any renewal thereof shall be made in such form or manner as the department shall prescribe by rule, provided that such application shall include, but need not be limited to:
1. A signed statement certifying compliance with all applicable laws, regulations and rules including: 
(a) that the applicant is in compliance with section 20-610 of the code; and
(b) that the applicant is in compliance with sections FC 309.3, FC 309.3.1, FC 309.3.2, FC 309.3.3, FC 309.3.4, and FC 309.3.5 of the New York city fire code. 
2. Original or true copies of liability insurance policies or certificates of insurance for liability insurance carried by the applicant. 
§ 20-565.2 Duties of licensees. Any person holding a license permitting operation of an electric bicycle or scooter business shall: 
a. Ensure compliance with all applicable laws, regulations and rules.
b. Carry liability insurance that, as determined by the department, adequately protects the public. 
c. File annual declarations, in a manner and form prescribed by the department pursuant to rule, certifying compliance with all provisions of this subchapter, including but not limited to, providing documentation of an active liability insurance policy. 
§ 20-565.3 Inspections. Prior to issuing any license for an electric bicycle or scooter business to operate, and routinely thereafter, the department, in coordination with the fire department, shall conduct inspections of operating locations of such businesses to ensure compliance with licensee duties established by section 20-565.2 and any rules promulgated pursuant to this subchapter. 
§ 20-565.4 Issuance, renewal, revocation and suspension of license; fines. In addition to any of the powers that may be exercised by the department, and not in limitation thereof, a license required pursuant to this subchapter may be suspended or revoked, or issuance or renewal thereof denied, by the department, and the licensee may be fined pursuant to subdivision e of section 20-104, upon a determination made by the department after due notice and hearing that an applicant or licensee has failed to comply with licensee duties established by section 20-565.2 of this subchapter or any rules promulgated thereunder, or has practiced fraud or misrepresentation in meeting requirements of this subchapter. 
§ 20-565.5 Unlicensed operation. Any person operating an electric bicycle or scooter business without a valid license issued by the department shall be liable for a civil penalty of no less than one thousand dollars for every calendar day during which the unlicensed electric bicycle or scooter business operated.
§ 20-565.6 Display of license. Each licensee shall conspicuously display a true copy of the license issued pursuant to this subchapter in close proximity to the main entrance door of each licensee’s electric bicycle or scooter business in such a manner that the license is visible from outside the building where such center is located.
§ 20-565.7 Outreach. No more than 60 days after the effective date of this local law, and continuing for 90 days thereafter, the commissioner, in collaboration with relevant agencies, shall conduct culturally appropriate outreach in the designated citywide languages, as defined in section 23-1101, to alert electric bicycle or scooter businesses to the requirements of this subchapter. Such outreach shall include, but need not be limited to, posting information on relevant agency websites and distributing information to electric bicycle or scooter businesses and other relevant stakeholders.
§ 2. Prior to the effective date of this local law, the department, in coordination with the fire department, shall make efforts to identify all electric bicycle or scooter businesses currently operating and notify such businesses of requirements as established by this local law. 
§ 3. This local law takes effect 180 days after becoming law. 
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Int. No. 
 
By Council Members Feliz, Powers, Abreu, Joseph and Brewer

..Title
A Local Law to amend the administrative code of the city of New York, in relation to safety standards for powered bicycles and powered mobility devices used for food delivery services.
..Body

Be it enacted by the Council as follows:
 
Section 1. Section 20-1501 of the administrative code of the city of New York is amended by adding a new definition of “powered mobility device” in alphabetical order to read as follows:
 Powered mobility device. The term “powered mobility device” shall be a powered bicycle or a powered mobility device, as such terms are defined in subchapter 2 of chapter 4 of title 20.
§2. Subchapter 2 of chapter 15 of title 20 of the administrative code of the city of New York is amended by adding a new section 20-1526 to read as follows:
§ 20-1526 Powered mobility devices. Any powered mobility device operated by a food delivery worker on behalf of a third-party delivery service or third-party courier service shall meet the standard for sale established by paragraph 1 of subdivision a of section 20-610, or paragraph 1 of subdivision b of such section, and any rules promulgated pursuant to either such paragraphs. Any such powered mobility device shall be provided at the expense of such delivery service or courier service, or by the food delivery worker. Such delivery service or courier service may permit a food delivery worker to make deliveries using a personal device that meets the standards provided in this section, provided that such delivery service or courier service shall not require any of its food delivery workers to provide such powered mobility device at such worker's expense as a term of employment.
§ 3. This local law takes effect 6 months after becoming law. 
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Int. No. 

By Council Member Nurse

..Title
A Local Law to amend the administrative code of the city of New York, in relation to record keeping and reporting on the disposal of rechargeable batteries used for powered mobility devices
..Body

Be it enacted by the Council as follows:





2

48
Section 1. Section 20-1501 of the administrative code of the city of New York, as added by local law number 114 for the year 2021, is amended by adding a definition of “powered mobility devices” in alphabetical order to read as follows: 
Powered mobility devices. The term “powered mobility devices” means (i) a bicycle with electric assist as defined in section 102-c of the vehicle and traffic law or any successor provision; (ii) an electric scooter as defined in section 114-e of the vehicle and traffic law or any successor provision; (iii) a motorized scooter as defined in section 19-176.2; or (iv) any other personal mobility device powered by a lithium-ion or other storage battery. The term does not include wheelchairs or other mobility devices designed for use by persons with disabilities, or any vehicle that is capable of being registered with the New York state department of motor vehicles.
§2. Subchapter 2 of chapter 15 of title 20 of the administrative code of the city of New York is amended by adding a new section 20-1525 to read as follows:
§ 20-1525. Reporting on disposal of rechargeable batteries used for powered mobility devices. Any entity that purchases used batteries that power powered mobility devices from consumers, or which accepts such batteries from consumers including through participation in voluntary recycling programs, shall maintain records of such practices and report such activities annually to the department. The record keeping and reporting required by this section shall be conducted in a manner prescribed by the department and shall include, but not be limited to, information pertaining to the number and type of batteries purchased or accepted and the manner in which such rechargeable batteries were disposed of. The department shall make such records available to the department of sanitation and the fire department upon request. The department shall post, on an annual basis no later than February 1 with respect to the previous calendar year, a summary on its website of the information reported to the department pursuant to this section. 
§ 2. This local law takes effect 90 days after becoming law.
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Int. No.

By Council Members Brewer, Farías and Rivera

..Title
A Local Law to amend the administrative code of the city of New York, in relation to vending on bridges
..Body

Be it enacted by the Council as follows:
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Section 1. Section 17-315 of the administrative code of the city of the New York is amended by adding new subdivisions n, o and p to read as follows:
n. No food vendor shall vend on any elevated pedestrian walkway or bicycle lane on a bridge approach.
o. No pushcart shall be placed on any elevated pedestrian walkway on a bridge unless said elevated pedestrian walkway has at least a sixteen foot clear pedestrian path to be measured from one side of the walkway to any obstruction in or on the walkway, or if there are no obstructions to the other side of the walkway, such measurement shall not include bicycle lanes.
p. No vending pushcart operating on any elevated pedestrian walkway on a bridge shall be within 20 feet of another vending pushcart operating on such elevated pedestrian walkway on a bridge.
§ 2. Section 20-465 of the administrative code of the city of New York is amended by adding new subdivisions s, t and u to read as follows:
s. No general vendor shall vend on any elevated pedestrian walkway or bicycle lane on a bridge approach.
t. No pushcart shall be placed on any elevated pedestrian walkway on a bridge unless said elevated pedestrian walkway has at least a sixteen foot clear pedestrian path to be measured from one side of the walkway to any obstruction in or on the walkway, or if there are no obstructions to the other side of the walkway, such measurement shall not include bicycle lanes.
u. No vending pushcart operating on any elevated pedestrian walkway on a bridge shall be within 20 feet of another vending pushcart operating on such elevated pedestrian walkway on a bridge.
§ 3. This local law takes effect 30 days after it becomes law.
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Int. No.
By Council Members De La Rosa, Sanchez, Farías, Krishnan, Hanif, Ayala, Ossé, Cabán, Nurse, Marte, Restler, Gutiérrez, Won, Avilés, Hudson, Louis and the Public Advocate (Mr. Williams)

..Title
A Local Law to amend the administrative code of the city of New York, in relation to permitting street vendors to vend within two feet from the curb
..Body

Be it enacted by the Council as follows:
	Section 1. Subdivision a of section 17-315 of the administrative code of the city of New York is amended to read as follows:
	a. No pushcart shall be placed upon any sidewalk unless said sidewalk has at least a twelve foot clear pedestrian path to be measured from the boundary of any private property to any obstruction in or on the sidewalk, or if there are no obstructions, to the curb. [In no event shall any pushcart be placed on any part of a sidewalk other than that which abuts the curb.] All pushcarts on the sidewalk must be placed within two feet from the curb. Where an obstruction prevents such placement, pushcarts must be placed as close as possible to the obstruction.
	§ 2. Subdivision a of section 20-465 of the administrative code of the city of New York is amended to read as follows: 
	a. No general vendor shall engage in any vending business on any sidewalk unless such sidewalk has at least a twelve-foot wide clear pedestrian path to be measured from the boundary of any private property to any obstructions in or on the sidewalk, or if there are no obstructions, to the curb. [In no event shall any pushcart or stand be placed on any part of a sidewalk other than that which abuts the curb.] All pushcarts on the sidewalk must be placed within two feet from the curb. Where an obstruction prevents such placement, pushcarts must be placed as close as possible to the obstruction. 
	§ 3. This law shall take effect 120 days after it becomes law.
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Int. No.

By Council Members Krishnan, Sanchez, Farías, De La Rosa, Hanif, Ayala, Ossé, Cabán, Nurse, Marte, Restler, Gutiérrez, Won, Avilés, Hudson, Louis and the Public Advocate (Mr. Williams)

..Title
A Local Law to amend the administrative code of the city of New York, in relation to repealing the misdemeanor criminal penalties for general vendors and mobile food vendors
..Body

Be it enacted by the Council as follows:
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56
Section 1. Subdivision a of section 17-325 of the administrative code of the city of New York is amended to read as follows:
a. [Any person who violates the provisions] The violation of subdivision a, b, or c of section 17-307 of this subchapter shall [be guilty of a misdemeanor] constitute an offense, punishable by a fine of not [less than one hundred fifty dollars nor] more than [one thousand dollars] $1,000[, or by imprisonment for not more than three months or by such fine and imprisonment].
§ 2. Subdivisions a and e of section 20-472 of the administrative code of the city of New York, subdivision a of such code as amended by local law number 63 for the year 1990, and subdivision e of such code as amended by local law number 14 for the year 1995, are amended to read as follows:
	a. [Any person who violates the provisions] The violation of sections 20-453 and 20-474.1 of this subchapter shall [be guilty of a misdemeanor] constitute an offense punishable by a fine of not [less than two hundred fifty dollars nor] more than [one thousand dollars] $1,000[, or by imprisonment for not more than three months or by both such fine and imprisonment]. In addition, any police officer may seize any vehicle used to transport goods to a general vendor, along with the goods contained therein, where the driver is required to but cannot produce evidence of a distributor's license. Any vehicle and goods so seized may be subject to forfeiture upon notice and judicial determination. If a forfeiture proceeding is not commenced, the owner or other person lawfully entitled to possession of such vehicle and goods may be charged with the reasonable cost for removal and storage payable prior to the release of such vehicle and goods, unless the charge of unlicensed distributing has been dismissed. 
e. [Any person who violates the provisions] The violation of sections 20-465 and 20-465.1 of this subchapter and any rules promulgated thereunder shall [be guilty of a misdemeanor] constitute an offense punishable by a fine of not more than [five hundred dollars, or by imprisonment for not more than thirty days or by both such fine and imprisonment] $500.
	§ 3. This local law takes effect immediately.
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Int. No.

By Council Member Menin 

..Title
A Local Law to amend the administrative code of the city of New York, in relation to vendor display and storage of goods, and to repeal sections 17-313 and 20-463 of such code, relating to bookkeeping requirements
..Body

Be it enacted by the Council as follows:





1

59

Section 1. Subdivision c of section 17-315 of the administrative code of the city of New York, as amended by local law number 39 for the year 2006, is amended to read as follows:
c. All items relating to the operation of a food vending business shall be kept in, on, or under the vending vehicle or pushcart[, except that samples of the non-perishable items sold may be displayed on the vending vehicle or pushcart]. No items relating to the operation of a food vending business other than an adjoining acceptable waste container shall be placed upon any public space adjacent to the vending vehicle or pushcart, and no food shall be sold except from an authorized vehicle or pushcart.
§ 2. Subdivision n of section 20-465 of the administrative code of the city of New York, as added by local law number 112 for the year 1989, is amended to read as follows:
n. No general vendor shall vend using the surface of the sidewalk, or a blanket or board placed immediately on the sidewalk or on top of a trash receptacle or cardboard boxes to display merchandise. No general vendor display may exceed five feet in height from ground level[. The display may not be less than twenty-four inches above the sidewalk where the display surface is parallel to the sidewalk, and may not be less than twelve inches above the sidewalk where the display surface is vertical. Where a rack or other display structure is placed on top of or above a table or other base, the size of the base shall not be less than the size of the display structure placed thereon. Nothing shall be placed on the base so as to exceed the size limitations contained in this section. No general vendor shall use any area other than that area immediately beneath the surface of the display space for the storage of items for sale.], except that a general vendor may use an umbrella that exceeds such height.
§ 3. Section 17-313 of the administrative code of the city of New York is REPEALED.
§ 4. Section 20-463 of the administrative code of the city of New York is REPEALED.
§ 5. Section 20-473 of the administrative code of the city of New York, as amended by chapter 11 of the laws of 2004, is amended to read as follows:
§ 20-473 Exemptions for general vendors who exclusively vend written matter. General vendors who exclusively vend written matter are exempt from the following provisions of this subchapter: sections 20-454, 20-455, 20-456, 20-457, 20-459, 20-461, 20-462[, 20-463] and 20-464; paragraph one of subdivision g of section 20-465; subdivision j of section 20-465, except that nothing herein shall be construed to deprive the commissioner of the department of parks and recreation of the authority to regulate the vending of written matter in a manner consistent with the purpose of the parks and the declared legislative intent of this subchapter; section 20-465.1 and any rules promulgated thereunder, except that on any street where both general vending is prohibited pursuant to section 20-465.1 of this subchapter and any rules promulgated thereunder and food vending is prohibited pursuant to section 20-465.1 of this subchapter and any rules promulgated thereunder or pursuant to subdivision 1 of section 17-315 of this code, general vendors who exclusively vend written matter shall not be permitted to vend with the use of any vehicle, pushcart or stand; sections 20-466 and 20-467; subdivisions c and d of section 20-468; sections 20-469 and 20-470; and subdivision a, and paragraph one of subdivision c of section 20-472.
§ 6. This local law takes effect immediately.
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Int. No.

By Council Member Menin 

..Title
A Local Law to amend the administrative code of the city of New York, in relation to vendor display and storage of goods, and to repeal sections 17-313 and 20-463 of such code, relating to bookkeeping requirements
..Body

Be it enacted by the Council as follows:
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Section 1. Subdivision c of section 17-315 of the administrative code of the city of New York, as amended by local law number 39 for the year 2006, is amended to read as follows:
c. All items relating to the operation of a food vending business shall be kept in, on, or under the vending vehicle or pushcart[, except that samples of the non-perishable items sold may be displayed on the vending vehicle or pushcart]. No items relating to the operation of a food vending business other than an adjoining acceptable waste container shall be placed upon any public space adjacent to the vending vehicle or pushcart, and no food shall be sold except from an authorized vehicle or pushcart.
§ 2. Subdivision n of section 20-465 of the administrative code of the city of New York, as added by local law number 112 for the year 1989, is amended to read as follows:
n. No general vendor shall vend using the surface of the sidewalk, or a blanket or board placed immediately on the sidewalk or on top of a trash receptacle or cardboard boxes to display merchandise. No general vendor display may exceed five feet in height from ground level[. The display may not be less than twenty-four inches above the sidewalk where the display surface is parallel to the sidewalk, and may not be less than twelve inches above the sidewalk where the display surface is vertical. Where a rack or other display structure is placed on top of or above a table or other base, the size of the base shall not be less than the size of the display structure placed thereon. Nothing shall be placed on the base so as to exceed the size limitations contained in this section. No general vendor shall use any area other than that area immediately beneath the surface of the display space for the storage of items for sale.], except that a general vendor may use an umbrella that exceeds such height.
§ 3. Section 17-313 of the administrative code of the city of New York is REPEALED.
§ 4. Section 20-463 of the administrative code of the city of New York is REPEALED.
§ 5. Section 20-473 of the administrative code of the city of New York, as amended by chapter 11 of the laws of 2004, is amended to read as follows:
§ 20-473 Exemptions for general vendors who exclusively vend written matter. General vendors who exclusively vend written matter are exempt from the following provisions of this subchapter: sections 20-454, 20-455, 20-456, 20-457, 20-459, 20-461, 20-462[, 20-463] and 20-464; paragraph one of subdivision g of section 20-465; subdivision j of section 20-465, except that nothing herein shall be construed to deprive the commissioner of the department of parks and recreation of the authority to regulate the vending of written matter in a manner consistent with the purpose of the parks and the declared legislative intent of this subchapter; section 20-465.1 and any rules promulgated thereunder, except that on any street where both general vending is prohibited pursuant to section 20-465.1 of this subchapter and any rules promulgated thereunder and food vending is prohibited pursuant to section 20-465.1 of this subchapter and any rules promulgated thereunder or pursuant to subdivision 1 of section 17-315 of this code, general vendors who exclusively vend written matter shall not be permitted to vend with the use of any vehicle, pushcart or stand; sections 20-466 and 20-467; subdivisions c and d of section 20-468; sections 20-469 and 20-470; and subdivision a, and paragraph one of subdivision c of section 20-472.
§ 6. This local law takes effect immediately.
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Int. No.

By Council Members Menin and Brooks-Powers

..Title
A Local Law to amend the administrative code of the city of New York, in relation to prohibiting vending or vendor-related activity in bicycle lanes
..Body

Be it enacted by the Council as follows:
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Section 1. Section 17-315 of the administrative code of the city of New York is amended by adding a new subdivision g to read as follows:
g. No food vending vehicle, pushcart, goods or any other item related to the operation of a food vending business shall be placed on or within a bicycle lane. For purposes of this section, the term “bicycle lane” means a portion of the roadway that has been marked off or separated for the preferential or exclusive use of bicycles.
§ 2. Section 20-465 of the administrative code of the city of New York is amended by adding a new subdivision h to read as follows:
h. No vending vehicle, pushcart, stand, goods or any other item related to the operation of a vending business shall be placed on or within a bicycle lane. For purposes of this section, the term “bicycle lane” means a portion of the roadway that has been marked off or separated for the preferential or exclusive use of bicycles.
	§ 3. This local law takes effect 30 days after it becomes law.
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