

253 Broadway 3rd Floor New York, NY 10007

Chair

Dennis M. Walcott

Commissioners

Yovan Samuel Collado Hon. Marilyn D. Go Kevin John Hanratty Maria Mateo, Esq. Joshua Schneps Lisa Sorin Msgr. Kevin Sullivan Kai-Ki Wong Maf Misbah Uddin Michael Schnall Kristen Johnson Gregory W. Kirschenbaum Marc Wurzel Dr. Darrin K. Porcher

Executive Director John Flateau, Ph.D.

1 212 676 3090 tel. nyc.gov/districting October 6, 2022

BY HAND

Speaker Adrienne Adams Council of the City of New York City Hall New York, NY 10007

Dear Speaker Adams and City Council Members,

The City of New York 2022-2023 Districting Commission (the "Commission") hereby submits for the Council's review, its plan for dividing New York City into fifty-one districts for the election of Members of the New York City Council.

The public's interest and participation in the City Council redistricting process has been unprecedented. From June to September, the Commission held two rounds of public hearings in each of the five boroughs for over 35 hours of total in-person and virtual testimony. After the release of the Preliminary Plan on July 15, 2022, the Commission made the maps available for the public's inspection and comment on its website as well as in public spaces across the five boroughs. The Commission also conducted extensive outreach of the local community on the Commission's process including leading public engagement sessions and running a media campaign in 70 of the city's community and ethnic weekly newspapers in ten languages. In addition, the Commission opened its mapping sessions to the public for further access to the Commission's redistricting process and provided free mapping software, Districtr, for the public to draw their own maps.

In total to date, the Commission has received over 12,500 submissions of public testimony in both hard copies and electronic submissions, which have been made available to the Commissioners for their consideration. The public testimony spans across all five boroughs from individuals, community organizations, and Council members. The Commission has carefully reviewed and considered the public testimony and the public's valuable input was incorporated to the



253 Broadway 3rd Floor New York, NY 10007

Chair
Dennis M. Walcott

Commissioners

Yovan Samuel Collado
Hon. Marilyn D. Go
Kevin John Hanratty
Maria Mateo, Esq.
Joshua Schneps
Lisa Sorin
Msgr. Kevin Sullivan
Kai-Ki Wong
Maf Misbah Uddin
Michael Schnall
Kristen Johnson
Gregory W. Kirschenbaum
Marc Wurzel
Dr. Darrin K. Porcher

Executive Director John Flateau, Ph.D.

1 212 676 3090 tel. nyc.gov/districting

extent practicable into this updated revised plan¹ being submitted to the Council herewith ("Updated Revised Plan").

Under the provisions of the New York City Charter, Chapter 2-A, the Commission now submits the Updated Revised Plan to the City Council for its consideration and such plan shall be deemed adopted unless "within three weeks, the council by the vote of a majority of all its members adopts its resolution objecting to such plan and returns the plan to the commission with such resolutions and a statement of its objections." NYC Charter § 51(d). With this submission of the Updated Revised Plan to the Council, the public will also have the opportunity to inspect the Updated Revised Plan, but the Commission will not take any further action until a resolution by Council is returned or the three-week period has elapsed. Thus, the decision as to whether the plan is adopted by the Council in its current form or whether the Commission's process of review and public comment will continue, will be based on the Council's decision.

This Commission believes that the Updated Revised Plan complies with all applicable laws and incorporates many of the desires expressed by the public, including the Council Members, within the limitations set forth by the City Charter, voting rights law, and state law. It is a Districting Plan that fairly represents the voters and residents of this diverse and vibrant New York City.

Respectfully,

Dennis M. Walcott

Dennis M. Walcott Chair New York City Districting Commission 2022-2023

cc: Carlos E. Beato, Special Counsel Council of the City of New York City Hall, New York, NY 10007

¹ At the September 22, 2022 public meeting, a proposed revised plan to be submitted to Council was not approved by the Commission.



253 Broadway 3rd Floor New York, NY 10007

Jonathan Ettricks, Director of the Legislative Documents Unit cc: Council of the City of New York

City Hall, New York, NY 10007

Chair

Dennis M. Walcott

Commissioners

Yovan Samuel Collado Hon. Marilyn D. Go Kevin John Hanratty Maria Mateo, Esq.

Joshua Schneps

Lisa Sorin

Msgr. Kevin Sullivan

Kai-Ki Wong

Maf Misbah Uddin

Michael Schnall

Kristen Johnson

Gregory W. Kirschenbaum

Marc Wurzel

Dr. Darrin K. Porcher

Executive Director

John Flateau, Ph.D.

1 212 676 3090 tel. nyc.gov/districting Commissioners, New York City Districting Commission John Flateau, Ph.D., Executive Director Grace Pyun, General Counsel