Res. No. 480
..Title

Resolution calling upon the New York State Legislature to pass, and the Governor to sign, A.6853/S.3638, legislation that would require drivers to submit proof of being medically fit to operate a motor vehicle upon their seventh application submission; and further calling upon the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles to require drivers over 80 years of age to pass a vision test every two years.
..Body

By Council Members Holden and Barron

Whereas, On June 25, 2018, Madeline Sershen, a 17 year-old high school student in Queens was killed when an 88-year-old driver ran a red light at the intersection of Utopia Parkway and 16th Avenue in Whitestone; and 

Whereas, Ms. Sershen’s tragic death has spurred her family and the community at large to advocate for the way New York State assesses its senior drivers with more than 21,000 people signing an online petition urging New York State to introduce retesting every 2 years once a driver turns 80; and 
Whereas, According to the Federal Highway Administration, there were more than 221 million licensed drivers in United States in 2016, including approximately 42 million who are aged 65 and older; and 
Whereas, Data obtained from the New York State Open Data Portal reveals that there are approximately 11.7 million licensed drivers in New York State, including roughly 2.7 million drivers 65 years of age or older; and  

Whereas, The national automobile membership organization AAA reports that by 2030, 85 to 90 percent % of the 70 million Americans older than 65 are projected to have driver's licenses, a substantial increase from the 33 million that was reported in 2009; and 

Whereas, AAA also said that while seniors are safe drivers compared to other age groups, they are more likely to be injured or killed in traffic crashes due to age-related vulnerabilities; and 
Whereas, The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention indicates that fatal crash rates increase starting at age 75 and increase notably after age 80; and
Whereas, According to the Governors Highway Safety Association, 33 States and the District of Columbia have special provisions for mature drivers, including accelerated renewal frequency; restriction of online or mailed renewals; and required vision and road tests; and
Whereas, An analysis of State license renewal procedures conducted by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (“IIHS”) found that 18 states require shorter renewal periods for drivers older than a specified age and 18 states require more frequent vision screening/testing for older drivers; and 
Whereas, The IIHS analysis further indicates that the District of Columbia requires a physician's approval for drivers 70 and older to renew their licenses, while the State of Illinois requires applicants older than 75 to take a road test at every renewal; and 
Whereas, New York State currently does not have any additional mandatory requirements for mature drivers, but only requires a vision test upon the initial application and then at every subsequent renewal which occurs every eight years; and  

Whereas, The New York State Department of Motor Vehicles (“DMV”) currently administers the Driver Re-evaluation Program which allows the DMV to reevaluate drivers in the state if the Commissioner has "reasonable grounds" to believe that a person holding a license is not qualified to drive a motor vehicle; and 

Whereas, Assembly Member Marco Crespo and State Senator Kevin S. Parker have introduced A.6853/S.3638, a bill that would enhance the fitness and safety requirements for certain licensed individuals and establish a state task force on the effects of aging; and 

Whereas, A.6853/S.3638 would require that upon the seventh application submission for the renewal of a driver's license,  applicants  must  submit  proof  of  a  physical  examination,     conducted  by  a  licensed  physician,  to  prove  that  the licensee is medically fit to operate a motor vehicle; now, therefore, be it  

Resolved, That the Council of the City of New York calls upon the New York State Legislature to pass, and the Governor to sign, A.6853/S.3638, legislation that would require drivers to submit proof of being medically fit to operate a motor vehicle upon their seventh application submission; and further calls upon the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles to require drivers over 80 years of age to pass a vision test every two years. 
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