The New York City Council CHARTER MEETING

Council Agenda

Stated Meeting

January 04, 2006

12:00 PM

Council Chambers - City Hall

1. The City Clerk (Mr. Robles) raps the gavel three times and states:

"I call the Meeting to order."

2. The City Clerk states:

"Will the Clerk please read the call for today's Charter Meeting."

3. The Clerk reads:

M 0001-2006 CALL FOR CHARTER MEETING

December 21, 2005

Honorable Victor L. Robles

City Council Council Agenda January 04, 2006

City Clerk and Clerk of the Council 265 Municipal Building New York, New York 10007

Dear City Clerk Robles:

Pursuant to Section 42 of the New York City Charter, the Charter meeting of the 2006 Council of the city of New York will be held on Wednesday, January 4, 2006 at 12:00 noon, in the Council Chambers, second floor, City Hall, New York, New York.

Sincerely,

Gifford Miller Speaker The City Clerk states:

"I order the call to be Received, Ordered, Printed and Filed."

4. The City Clerk then states:

"Pursuant to Section 42 of the New York City Charter, I hereby call this meeting to order and direct the Clerk to read the communication from the Board of Elections stating the list of elected City Council Members."

The Clerk reads:

M 0002-2006 BOARD OF ELECTIONS-LIST OF ELECTED CITY OFFICIALS

December 19, 2005

Honorable Victor L. Robles City Clerk and Clerk of the Council

Municipal Building - 2nd Floor South One Centre Street New York, New York 10007

Dear City Clerk Robles:

Please be hereby advised that the following named persons were elected Members of the City Council of New York on November 8, 2005:

- 1st Alan J. Gerson 27th Leroy G. Comrie, Jr.
- 2nd Rosie Mendez 28th Thomas White Jr.
- 3rd Christine C. Quinn 29th Melinda R. Katz
- 4th Daniel R. Garodnick 30th Dennis P. Gallagher
- 5th Jessica S. Lappin 31st James Sanders, Jr.
- 6th Gale A. Brewer 32nd Joseph P. Addabbo, Jr.
- 7th Robert Jackson 33rd David Yassky
- 8th Melissa Mark Viverito 34th Diana Reyna
- 9th Inez E. Dickens 35th Letitia James
- 10th Miguel Martinez 36th Albert Vann
- 11th G. Oliver Koppell 37th Erik Martin Dilan
- 12th Larry B. Seabrook 38th Sara M. Gonzalez
- 13th James Vacca 39th Bill de Blasio
- 14th Maria Baez 40th Yvette D. Clarke
- 15th Joel Rivera 41st Darlene Mealy
- 16th Helen D. Foster 42nd Charles Barron
- 17th Maria Del Carmen Arroyo 43rd Vincent J. Gentile
- 18th Annabel Palma 44th Simcha Felder
- 19th Tony Avella 45th Kendall Stewart
- 20th John C. Liu 46th Lewis A. Fidler
- 21st Hiram Monserrate 47th Domenic M. Recchia, Jr.
- 22nd Peter F. Vallone, Jr. 48th Michael C. Nelson
- 23rd David I. Weprin 49th Michael E. McMahon
- 24th James F. Gennaro 50th James S. Oddo
- 25th Helen Sears 51st Andrew J. Lanza
- 26th Eric N. Gioia

Sincerely,

George Gonzalez
Deputy Executive Directo *The City Clerk states:*

"I order the call to be Received, Ordered, Printed and Filed."

5. The City Clerk will then state:

"I will now perform the formal ceremony of the duly elected Council Members taking their oath of office."

6. The City Clerk will then request:

"Will the Clerk call the Roll for the purpose of ascertaining the presence of a quorum."

After ascertaining from the Clerk that there is a quorum, the City Clerk will then announce:

"We have a quorum."

7. The City Clerk will state:

"Please rise for today's invocation delivered by Rev. Francis Shannon, Blessed Sacrament Roman Catholic Church, Cypress Hills, Brooklyn, NY"

The City Clerk will recognize Council Member Dilan.

Council Member Dilan will make the motion to spread the invocation in full upon the record.

City Council Council Agenda January 04, 2006

The City Clerk states:

"So ordered."

8. The City Clerk will recognize Council Member Comrie:

M 0003-2006

CONTINUATION OF 2004-2005 RULES OF THE COUNCIL, AS AMENDED

By Council Member Comrie:

"Motion that pursuant to Section 46 of the New York City Charter, the 2004-2005 Rules of the Council as amended, be continued and in effect until new rules shall be adopted or said rules shall be otherwise amended or modified."

The City Clerk will announce the results of the vote.

9. Nomination of the Speaker

M 0004-2006 NOMINATION OF THE SPEAKER

The City Clerk will recognize Council Member Rivera:

"I hereby nominate for the Office of the Speaker of the Council of the City of New York, Pursuant to Section 44 of the New York City Charter, for the term commencing January 1, 2006 and terminating December 31, 2009, Council Member Christine C. Quinn."

The City Clerk will then call upon Council Member Comrie to second the nomination.

The City Clerk will then call upon Council Member Reyna to second the nomination.

After the nomination has been seconded the City Clerk will

City Council Council Agenda January 04, 2006

then ask:

"Are there any other nominations?"

If Hearing None, the City Clerk will state:

"I now close the nominations."

The City Clerk announces the results and declares:

"The Council Member duly elected as the Speaker of the Council of the City of New York for the term commencing January 1, 2006 and terminating December 31, 2009 is Council Member Christine C. Quinn.

10. Petitions and Communications

M 0005-2006 Designation Of Minority Leader

We, the undersigned members of the Minority (Republican) Delegation of the Council of the City of New York, hereby designate and appoint James S. Oddo as Minority Leader of the New York City Council, pursuant to Rule 4.10 of the Rules of the Council of the City of New York for a term commencing on January 1, 2006.

Signed Dennis P. Gallagher, Andrew J. Lanza, James S. Oddo. *Received, Ordered, Printed and Filed*

11. Messages & Papers from the Mayor

M 0006-2006 Robert B. Tierney, Landmarks Preservation Commission

Communication from the Mayor - Submitting the name of Robert B. Tierney to the Council for its advice and consent regarding his reappointment to the Landmarks Preservation Commission, Pursuant to Sections 31 and 3020 of the City Charter.

Rules, Privileges and Elections

M 0007-2006 Elizabeth Ryan, Landmarks Preservation Commission

Communication from the Mayor - Submitting the name of Elizabeth Ryan to the Council for its advice and consent regarding her reappointment to the Landmarks Preservation Commission, Pursuant to Sections 31 and 3020 of the City Charter.

Rules, Privileges and Elections

12. The Clerk will then recognize the Speaker

M 0008-2006 Nomination And Election Of The Committee on Rules, Privileges and Elections

By the Speaker:

"I nominate the following Council Members as Members of the Committee on Rules, Privileges and Elections of the City Council:

Leroy Comrie, Chair
Christine Quinn David Weprin
Joel Rivera Maria Baez
Lewis Fidler Michael McMahon
Bill de Blasio James Oddo
Inez Dickens Daniel Garodnick

Melinda Katz Diana Reyna

After the motion is seconded, the City Clerk will state:

"For this roll call, the question on the floor is whether the Council would agree with and adopt such nominations."

The City Clerk will then state:

"Will the Clerk call the Roll."

The City Clerk will announce the results of the vote.

13. Communication from the Speaker

14. ADJOURNMENT